We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dingy=Don't Believe Website Photos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Reef Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty, Dingy=Don't Believe Website Photos”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Reserved 2-non-smoking rooms for 3-days each. Rooms reeked of cigarette smoke when I complained to the front desk the rude man at the front desk insisted the rooms were non-smoking and refused to move us. Instead a facilities person came up and sprayed the carpet. This same process went on for the 3-day stay - I complained - refused to move me to a non-smoking room - and a facilities person came up and sprayed the room. Walking around on the carpet my white socks turned black each day and the tub/shower combination was beige but had huge pink stains showing through. It is obvious the bathroom should be reglazed before allowing people to stay.

Room Tip: Try the Executive Suites in Alameda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredandPoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    81
    48
    67
See reviews for
116
75
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is need of a good cleaning and updates. The carpet is filthy and turns your socks black within five minutes,keep your shoes on. The room was only cleaned once in the four night stay we had,we had to ask for clean towels everyday. We booked a room with two double beds but we were put in a room with one double bed and a broken sleeper sofa.We had to get a rollwaway bed which was charged to our room.On the positive side the location to the airport and shopping is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckfrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alameda hotels

Palmdale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our family of 3, 2 older adults and 1 teen, stayed at Coral Reef Inn for 2 nights in mid-March 2012. Our oldest son lives on Alameda, which is primarily why we chose the Coral Reef since it's just a few blocks from his apartment.

Also, the price was right, at less than $100 for a standard, double queen room in the Bay Area. And Alameda is a nice, little world unto itself. We loved walking down Park St. past all the small businesses and local restaurants.

The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette area (microwave, refrigerator, stove, sink, table and chairs) and a balcony which overlooked the modestly-landscaped pool area. (The pool is NOT heated and we didn't try it since the weather was cool.) There are higher priced rooms which overlook a lagoon, but since we didn't spend much time in our room, we were happy with our lower priced one.

I didn't partake of the very basic continental breakfast, but my husband and daughter were unimpressed. We headed over to a fast-food joint for a quick, cheap breakfast to-go instead.

The only problems we had were minor: attitude from motel staff regarding extra towels and our room was cleaned even though we specifically left the "Do Not Disturb" on the door handle. Since I plan another trip to the Coral Reef to again in the near future, I will be sure to address these issues with the motel staff upon check-in (and bring my own bath towels!)

Room Tip: Since Coral Reef Inn is only a 2 story motel, ask for a room on the 2nd floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleycor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had some business to do in Berkeley, but our 11-year-old daughter begged us to not stay in Berkeley, which scandalized her the last time we were there. So we had to look for some place that was family friendly. So glad we ended up in Alameda and Coral Reef Inn, with a suite by the lagoon that had resident ducks and geese that amused us no end. Our well-appointed, well-furnished suite made us feel right at home.

Joyce and company at the desk were so helpful in helping us find our way around the area. They were genuinely warm and sincere people. We enjoyed meeting other guests at the continental breakfast. The walking shopping complex across the street, with a Safeway, a Wallgreens, a Trader Joes, a Petco (for our daugher's entertainment) and interesting small stores and eating places was so convenient to have. Don't miss the Daiso (most everything at $1.50) Japanese goods store. Fun and cheap!

Near the entrance is the South Shore Beach. We walked along the shore and enjoyed the serenity and the friendliness around us. We also walked many blocks to church and were delighted with the human-scale, laid back, safe, and friendly atmosphere of Alameda. Coral Reef Inn and Alameda are a sanctuary for the weary traveler, or just a fun place for families to have a good relaxing time together.

Room Tip: Bring your own kitchen utensils and save some money by making use of the kitchen. It has a nice-size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We got a hiuge room with a balcony. Not the cleanest or most modern hotel but it worked for us. Great bowling alley right next door...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott94117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We only stayed one night. Very convenient location near grocery and eating establishments. Appears to have been apartment complex on prior life. Small tv, kitchen big but no dishes, utinsels, pots, glasses, etc. Bed was very firm! Overall good value for the low price. Recommend for those on a budget who dont expect Hilton quality.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel32389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I visited Alameda to ride bikes on the Bay Trail. This hotel was just steps from bike/walking trails. In the evening we walked down Park Street to the various locally owned shops and nightlife (there is a mall directly across the street from the hotel if that fits your plans better) and felt completely safe.
The coral Reef Inn itself was clean, had 24 hour coffee, and a light breakfast included in the stay. The rooms were a bit dated but not bad. For ten dollars more we chose a room with an outdoor patio, a small kitchenette, and a living area that is separate from the bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveturlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marina Village Inn
Marina Village Inn
#7 of 8 in Alameda
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
888 reviews
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Inn & Suites

Property: Coral Reef Inn & Suites
Address: 400 Park St, Alameda, CA 94501-6231
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Reef Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Reef Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel Alameda
Coral Reef Inn And Suites
Coral Reef Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing