We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Super comfy room. The shower was huge. Very clean and quiet. Enjoyable stay. Wish the eggs weren't the frozen powdery kind. Waffles were excellent. Hard boiled eggs were good. Lots of breakfast items to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank loridloralei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review. Your compliments about the large shower, the excellent breakfast selection, the cleanliness and the quiet ambiance were so nice to hear. I have made note of your observation about the scrambled eggs and will follow up accordingly.

Your feedback is important to us. We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    163
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
190
141
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location close to Oakland Airport, but only 10 minutes to downtown Oakland as well. Very clean. Despite nearness to airport, great construction minimized noise. Wonderful bay shore walk outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Shawn,

Thank you for your thorough and complimentary review of our hotel. You mentioned many of the most popular benefits of staying at our hotel: the accessibility to the airport and downtown Oakland, the cleanliness and the scenic view of the bay with walking trails.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok but there is not eating options within walking distance. The walls are so thin you can hear a mouse fart. I was kept awake by someone snoring in the adjacent room.
The do have a van that will take you only to a few select restaurants. It's a so so place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohnluvsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear John,

I regret that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally about the soundproofing and any other issues that were not to your liking. Please feel free to call me at your convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value our guests’s feedback so we can make improvements. Your satisfaction is our measure of success.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We reserved a block of rooms for our 40th AHS high school reunion. It was so nice to meet all our classmates for breakfast and there was still seats and tables left for other guests. No tiny room with 85 yr. old men standing in the corner trying to eat a bowl of cereal and hold a cup of coffee because there was no place to sit. The beds are extremely comfortable! The hotel was very accommodating. Shuttled some classmates over to the reunion. Picked others up at the airport and shuttled them back for the trip home. They have a wonderful beverage bar in the lobby that is open 24 hours. Hot water, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, regular, and decaf, and dark roast coffee. Flavored creams available too! Several kinds of tea available.

After our reunion we closed up a local bar, then came back to the hotel. We opted to get some coffee and sit in the sitting area and upload photos to our computers and to Facebook. The guy at the front desk was so nice. He turned the dimmed lights up for us. We felt very welcome.

Free wifi in the rooms and in the lobby. No problems ever with it, or with the speed.

There is a wonderful walking path outside the hotel along the water. A short walk to the SF ferry. Some classmates took the ferry to SF for lunch before the reunion on Sat.

Some say this hotel is not close to much. Minutes to the airport. Yes, a long walk to the main land of Alameda, but a cab ride would not cost much and would be less than 5 miles to the heart of the city's downtown district or to South Shore shopping mall. Or possibly the hotel would shuttle you. If hubby golfs, I bet he could get shuttled to the golf course just 1 mile away, and the rest could take the car into town.

You'll love your stay here, I know I did!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view. I had an odd number room on the 3rd floor, 325 and it faced the water. The thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It sounds like you all had a great 40th reunion. How fun! Our hotel is well suited for get-togethers like yours, with our cozy lobby, complimentary breakfast and coffee and tea service. Our location, close to the Oakland Airport, San Francisco, sports venues and other destinations makes it convenient for all your guests to find the entertainment of their choice. As you mentioned in your review, our complimentary shuttle service can deliver you anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your reunion. We hope you come back for another visit for your next trip to the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a regular ol' Hampton Inn — clean and predictable — but I love it for several reasons:

1. It's priced (at least when we stayed there) like a regular ol' Hampton Inn. There was no giant markup like you find at a lot of bay area hotels.

2. It's close to the Oakland airport for convenience, but it's not in Oakland itself. It's in a very nice, office-park-like setting with manicured lawns and virtually no pedestrians. Alameda seems like a safe, quiet area, unlike most of Oakland.

We rented a car, but if you want to take public transit there's a free hotel shuttle that will take you to the airport, where you can connect to BART and zip over to SF pretty quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

You described beautifully the best reasons for staying at our hotel: quiet and park-like setting, excellent value for the money, easy shuttle service, convenient location, clean and comfortable. We appreciate your generous compliments.

Your business is important to us, thank you.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great room with a view of the bay, good service, good breakfast room, and very quiet, even though it is at the end of the runway. 5 panes of glass in the windows. Didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for your rave review of our hotel. You noticed the quiet serenity of the guest rooms, many guests are pleasantly surprised by the excellent soundproofing we have. The beautiful view of the bay is also an unexpected treat for our guests.


We appreciate your business and hope that you can visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a normal Hampton Inn hotel with usual excellent service and quality amenities. What makes it stand out from other Hampton Inns is the location, quiet and peaceful, very close to Alameda's Park street with variety of great resturants. Very accessible to freeway and airport (Oakland) yet you'll hardly notice the airplane noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Antonio,

We think that our serene setting by the bay, with easy access to the Oakland airport and the wide variety of dining choices in Alameda is the perfect combination for travelers. Thank you for commenting on this in your five star review of our hotel.

We are grateful that you chose the Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda for your visit to the Bay Area. I hope you can visit us again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda Airport
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing