We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Value in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Value in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is both secluded and convenient at the same time. The value (price) is unrivaled for what you get compared to other hotels I've tried. They have AAA rates. If you are flying into Oakland and are not extravagantly wealthy you have to stay here.

Room Tip: My room had a beautiful view of the Bay, and I didn't even ask for it. So look at a map prior t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ron,

Your description about the convenience and seclusion of our hotel is so well said, thank you. Our goal of providing an excellent value is what drives us, I am glad you found our rates a good deal. We will do our best to accommodate you in a bay view room on your next visit so you can enjoy the lovely view.

We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    188
    65
    19
    9
See reviews for
217
152
36
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

By reading the other reviews prior to staying at the Hampton in Alameda I would have thought that this was the best hotel West of the Mississippi. As it turned out -- it's a Hampton....and I can't figure out what others see in it that makes it so fantastic. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad hotel, it just doesn't strike me as anything unusual for a Hampton other than it seems a bit newer that some others.

Located near the airport, and essentially in an industrial park, it is far enough from the airport to be away from the noise and close enough to companies in the industrial park that it is a great location if your business is there. That said, it is not really close (meaning you have to have a car) to restaurants or the city (read: ANY city).

Clean -- Check
Efficient Staff -- Check
Free shuttle to Oakland airport and all points within 3 miles -- Check
Hampton Breakfast (nothing to write home about) - Check
Hampton Inn -- Check

The one not so good thing that I noticed -- I stayed on the first floor and you could hear the second floor occupants through the ceiling. Whether they were heavy footed or if this is a general issue is not clear, but next time I am going for the top floor!

Room Tip: I could hear the footsteps and noise through the ceiling from the floor above -- go for the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your reaction to our hotel was less than exuberant. We continually strive to raise the bar on our standards, so we take your comments seriously. Please call me on your next visit so that I can speak to you personally and ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hampton Inn is quiet, clean, comfortable and a great value. Our son is living in Alameda in a studio apartment so we've stayed here twice while visiting him - and will again. We love the friendly staff, comfortable king suites, luxurious bedding and super clean bathrooms. There's a great walking path along the bay. Breakfast is simple but nicely presented - very decent for a hotel. It's not a destination resort but it is perfect for our purpose.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the west side - for the sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Carol,

We are happy to offer you a "home away from home" when you visit your son here. Thank you for you compliments about our cleanliness, breakfast, and service. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our bayside location and scenic walkways which are often popular with our guests.

Please let us know when you will be returning for another visit, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just a Great Hotel at a Fair price. Something usually not found in the Bay area. Staff is always efficient and friendly. We recomend it to anyone we meet that is considering an overnight stay in the Bay area.

Room Tip: Stay on the Bay side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Rich,

Your enthusiastic review of our hotel was so thoughtful. We aim to offer the best value for the money, with our convenient shuttle, clean comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast and excellent customer service. I am glad that you were so happy with the value you received.

Thank you for spreading the word about our hotel. Your recommendation is the best advertising we could ask for.

Come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent facility and staff, as always when I stay. Staff always goes out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. Facility always feels safe and breakfast in the morning is wonderful. Location is quiet and very pretty. Although it is near an airport, one cannot hear the airplanes from inside the facility.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ginny,

Our employees enjoy taking care of our guests, so I will be happy to tell them about your kind remarks regarding their excellent service. Our breakfast is a big hit with our guests who also comment on the attractiveness of our location, thank you for noting those attributes in your review.

I hope you can come back again soon for business or pleasure, we look forward to making your visit as comfortable as possible.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel is off the beaten track, even some distance away from the airport terminal. This makes for a quiet location and few flights at night to disturb the peaceful waterfront location. There is a shapping center about 1 mile away with a handful of restuarants.
Facility is clean and well maintained, including fitness center. Good HD TV, free Internet, and breakfast.
One thing I wish they had are real glasses - I would easily pay $5/night more for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volvodadfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your comments about the advantages of our seemingly out-of-the-way location were well put. Our guests often comment on the quietness, serenity and the convenience of our hotel. Shopping and dining are nearby and we offer a state of the art fitness center for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a night here while on a trip to Hawaii with an early morning flight from Oakland.
Arrived by rental car and dropped our bags, the hotel shuttle bus picked us up from the rental car station and we were told to leave the hotel about 1.5 hours before the flight to have time to check bags etc.
After a good sleep in the nice clean tidy room we were in the lobby at 0530 for a ride to the airport for our flight, also waiting was a couple needing to get a flight half hour earlier than us.
The hotels bus did not have a driver and we had to wait while the guy on duty called another hotel's bus to try and get them to collect us.
Eventually after about 40 very stressful minutes this happened and we all just made flights.
If we had known the bus would be a problem then we'd have kept the rental car and used that in the morning.
Not a great start to a vacation.

Apart from this the hotel was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNC-expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I also want to express my sincere apologies for the difficulty that you experienced with our shuttle service. The problem is not representative of the standard of excellence in service that we intend to offer our guests. We will use your comments to prevent future occurrences of a similar nature. Please call me when you are planning your next stay with us so that I can personally oversee the arrangements for your visit.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn Alameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing