We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem”
Review of HobNob

HobNob
Ranked #82 of 249 Restaurants in Alameda
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Strolling by you could easily assume that this is just another sports bar...it's not! The food is well above typical sports bar fare. Menu choices are not only a nice diversion from what one might expect but they are also excellent. My friends and I now definitely go there for the food...what's on TV is a secondary consideration.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jboom247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips to Die For”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is usually bustling and a bit noisy. It has a leetle bit of an identity crisis - board games but not a lot of large tables, and loud enough that conversation can be challenging. There's a well-stocked bar up front - I don't drink, dh isn't crazy about their mixed drinks. According to dh, there's a decent beer selection. The food and appetizers are limited in selection but really wonderful. Let me say it again, fish and chips are to die for, which is why I only go there about 2x a year, because I'm not ready to die just yet. :-D

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ataaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict that makes my weekend!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I'm sure there are other good things on the menu too, but I don't care. The Eggs Benedict available during the weekend brunch is out of this world. Whenever my partner and I have Eggs Benedict anywhere else, we always compare it to Hobnob. So far, no other place has even come close. Forget waiting in line for an hour for that other diner down the street. This is where you should be having your weekend breakfast feast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AirDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming environment- great food”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

A few of us stopped in for a quick dinner on our way to OAK. Tried the heirloom tomato salad , mac and cheese and had some truffle fries. The fry order was HUGE and delicious! We were bummed we did not have time to finish them as we had a plane to catch. I found this place via my TripAdvisor iPhone app (thank you). I will be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fun2travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I'm sure this is a great place to get a drink, but don't' go for the breakfast/brunch. Went there twice and both time, the food was mediocre. I could have gotten the same food for half the price at a diner.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathTeach4ages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HobNob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing