We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Alameda's Best”
Review of Burma Superstar

Burma Superstar
Ranked #2 of 249 Restaurants in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Alameda's Best”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Worth waiting in line for. Excellent menu choices, good service and decent prices. The food makes this place one of Alameda's best restaurants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jboom247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    74
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
203 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lunch Special or Special Lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

In town for 2 day business trip and had to make it count. Glad I chose Burma Superstar. Stopped in for lunch on the way to the airport and was pleased to find one of the lunch specials was soup & salad, Samusa Soup and Tea Leaf Salad. It was wonderful, so very good and different and lived up to the hype. I was there early so got a table immediately, by the time I left there was a line out the door. Parking on the street is very limited but if you drive a block off the main drag you can readily find parking (bring lots of quarters).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go find it!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This little spot is well worth any effort it takes to find. It's easy to tell that it's a local's favorit, pretty busy even after the lunch traffic.
If you read the other reviews, the Tea Leaf Salad lives up to all that's said. I had them add some grilled chicken to satisfy my carnivorous appetite. I lingered a bit over the Jack Fruit Dessert and some "rare" Green Monkey tea. The dessert is awesome, super blend of fruit, chocolate, and coconut ice cream. Save your mony on the tea.. Meager, or maybey just over shadowed by the rest of the meal.
Staff are friendly but don't expect a lot of attention, there pretty busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excelent Dinning”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Food and Service is exceptional. Arrive early for dinner; by 5:30 the restaurant is full on Saturday night

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exciting new flavours on the palate!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Would you like to try Burmese? I said sure and I am so gald I did...wow...fresh, different, yummy...even our leftovers were delicious..take a look at the kitchen...everything is prepared fresh...it's wild in there...took the menu and will try cooking some at home...can accommodate gluten free too..knowledgable servers and kitchen....GO!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iontrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burma Superstar also viewed

 

Been to Burma Superstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing