We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable Hotel and a Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Agoura Hills
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my teenage niece and two of her friends on a recent trip to Los Angeles to do some sightseeing. When booking the hotel, I decided that it was worth it to stay about 35 miles north of where the majority of our sightseeing was located due to the value this hotel provided for its price over the hotels in the Hollywood and santa Monica areas. (We drove down from Northern CA, so it was better for us to stay North rather than South of Los Angeles.)

The hotel is located right off Highway 101 and very easy to find. There are a number of fast food options within a mile of the hotel, and a Trader Joes grocery store about a mile away as well. Traffic heading into Los Angeles wasn't bad, unless you were taking Hwy 405 off Highway 101, which we did not do. Returning from the Getty on 405 one evening was slow going though.

We had Room 309 with two double beds, a desk an armchair, a balcony with a table & two chairs and a spacious bathroom with a long counter, which was nice for having multiple people get ready at the same time. Due to the location of our room, the balcony looked over the roof of the lobby, but looking straight out of the room, you had a nice view of the hills.

The room comes with a small refrigerator and a microwave can be requested free of charge. Because they are moved often, the one we received was pretty dented up, but functioned just fine. There's also an in-room safe in the small closet, which was large enough to hold a laptop. WiFi at the hotel is $9.95 per day, but as a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Gold member, I opted to have free WiFi as my "perk" for the stay. It worked fine & the speed was adequate. No problems signing on, but I did have to sign on again each day, as it asks you to accept the daily charge. This was automatically reversed from my account due to the SPG Gold benefit.

As another traveler mentioned, there is a large full length mirror that is right next to one of the beds, which helped in having 4 ladies getting ready at the same time. We also had a full length mirror on the closet doors, so we had several places for people to get together. We did find there to be a shortage of outlets when everyone wanted to charge camera batteries, cell phones & iPods at night, but we had aunusual number of devices between the four of us.

Overall, the room was clean and comfortable. (Beds were really comforrtable!) Although the website said they had Aveda bath products, they actually had the "Shine" brand. In the room, they provided shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath gel, a small bath "scrubby", and a little packet with 2 cotton balls, 2 Qtips & a mini emery board. The room is stocked with three sets of towels, so the first two nights, we had to call down to have a fourth set brought up. They were quick to deliver and on the third night, we found 4 sets of towels when we returned form our day of sightseeing. The shower has low water pressure, which really needs improvementt. It may save water, but since it's so low, it takes twice as long to rinse off & get all of the shampoo/conditioner out of your hair, so you end up taking twice as long and using the same amount of water. Staff was very friendly and helpful during check in and check out.

The only issue we had was that the area around the HVAC unit didn't seem to be sealed well and we could feel the cold air from outside coming in under the unit, which is through the wall and a few inches off the ground. It made for cold feet when you were near the door or at the desk.

If we go back down to Los Angeles, I would definitely stay here again. It was well worth the room price I paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having seen a cheap rate on Kayak, I booked this late in the day and proceeded to check in within the hour.

The staff were welcoming enough, there was free parking which was a bonus. Prior to using it, I noticed the toilet had some toilet paper in it. There was also some human hair on the seat.

The bed was extremely comfortable, however was so high off the ground, it was almost too difficult to climb into.

After settling in, I proceeded to the bar downstairs. There was free wi-fi at the bar, which should be promoted, as many hotels on my trip haven't offered this.

I ordered a Jack and coke for ~$9. After I'd finished, I wanted abother one, but the bar was unattended. After 2 more patrons arrived, the barman came back. He served the other 2 first, then poured me another drink. After I'd finished, the same thing happened, 2 other patrons that had arrived after I'd finished my drink were served first. I settled my bill and retired for the night.

In the morning, I had a shower and the plug couldn't be removed. This mens that your feet stay in the dirty water, rather than draining away. After finishing my shower, I had to wedge the shampoo bottle lid under the plug to allow it to drain.

Little things that impacted an otherwise pleasant one night stay.

Thank shannonmead
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for Rose Bowl and short getaway trip with my daughter and her friend. This hotel was a bit further away from the things we were doing than I expected, but that was my mistake, not a reflection on the hotel. The hotel is very nice, staff very friendly, easy to get to from 101 and area was very safe. Bed was comfortable, but the room was quite small. For example, the large mirror (only one outside of bathroom) was literally inches away from the bed, and had no outlets near it. I know this is an extremely minor issue, but wanted to point it out, as there were 3 girls traveling together, and it made it a little hard to get ready simultaneously.
Had to pay for internet, but parking was free. There were very limited dining options in the immediate area. We enjoyed our stay, but if we come again to do things in LA, I would stay closer to the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over Xmas to visit family.....
A bit further away from the family's Ventura area, but decided on this place over the other SPG option, which I had stayed in over Thanksgiving...

Glad we did.......a bit more driving was required, but it was worth it.

Check in was a breeze, was upgraded to a nice suite, due to my SPG status, plenty of room and the bed was very comfortable.
Was provided breakfast buffet in the restaurant every morning, they included this for the kids too, but they never actually stayed with us at the hotel. It was good, the waitress/waiters were very friendly (and concierge/maid service)

WIFI worked great.

On the Concierge's suggestion, went to The Lab the first night for few beers, they had a nice selection of micro-brews, and was right across the street.

Only went to the club lounge once. It was a very small room, with some soda pop, and a few snacks.
The hotel is huge, really spread out. Since our room was basically the farthest from the elevators, we ended up using the stairs to get to the car during our in and outs.

Bathroom was big with a large tub, and walk in shower, only thing that slightly bugged me, was the shower, very little pressure. Had I brought some pliers I would have checked to see if there was some type of restrictor preventing full power.

Definitely the place to stay in the Ventura area if you want to go with the SPG chain. We'll be back anytime we need a place in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Though not exactly close to downtown LA, this Sheraton, if your destination is the coast near Malibu or the Thousand Oaks/Calabasas/west San Fernando Valley area, is a terrific value.
Clean, well-maintained, spacious rooms with comfy beds and a Club Level with complimentary breakfast are some of the draws. Breakfast included hot scrambled eggs and sausage and bacon as well as the standard cereals, fruits, etc. Seating is limited inside but there is an outdoor section if the weather is good and the views are delightful.
Staff at all levels is friendly and "in-service." Ask and you will be accommodated! Check various websites for good price as it varies. Starwood site also runs specials from time to time.

Room Tip: We like it really quiet so if you are of like mind, ask for a room facing the mountains behind, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before running the Malibu International Marathon. We were really spoiled by the front desk. There was a little confusion at check in, mainly because of poor communication from the folks in charge of the marathon. We were given a great room on the 3rd floor, with a balcony overlooking the pool. We were also given club level access, which was really nice. I would highly recommend paying extra for that. There were appetizers and soft drinks in the evenings, and hot breakfast (eggs, bacon/sausage, breads, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereal, juice) every morning in the club room. The bed was huge and comfy. The room was very quiet--except for a couple of hours when some rude person decided to ditch their dog in their room so it could bark like crazy. The bar is small, but the bartender is nice. Food service in the bar area was exceedingly slow. The pool is small, but ok for a quick dip to cool off. This isn't really a kids hotel. It would be a good hotel for business travel. Overall the staff was awesome--They even sent wine and cheese to our room to welcome us to California!. I would stay here again. There are a couple of restaurants across the street. We ate at Lab Brewing which was fun, with good food/beer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plainstravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed 4 days because of a business trip. Hotel was clean, rooms were big and service was just fine. Ask for a room with a view to the highway - the mini pool in the back is quite but a little awkward. It was just what I expected.

Even it's nearby the highway the sleep quality is just fine. It's nearby Thousand Oaks and a good alternative the Inns there. It is also 35 minutes away from Camarillo Outlets, 15 minutes from the Oaks mall, 45 mins from LAX.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agoura Hills
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Agoura Hills
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Agoura Hills
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Calabasas
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
2.1 mi away
Westlake Village Inn
Westlake Village Inn
#3 of 4 in Westlake Village
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel

Address: 30100 Agoura Rd, Agoura Hills, CA 91301-2004 (Formerly Renaissance Agoura Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Agoura Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Agoura Hills
Price Range: $134 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Santa Monica Hills, our hotel has breathtaking views in every direction. If you're planning an event in the area, check out our meeting rooms, banquet space, and ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agoura Hills Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing