We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With regrets”
Review of Paramount Ranch

Paramount Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Agoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Old West town at Paramount Ranch, which is authentic enough to fool a ghost, was forsaken by Hollywood.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“With regrets”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was neat. You've seen the buildings a million times. I wish there were more displays showing photos from the movies and tv shows shot there.

My recommendation-- go on a weekday and take a tripod. You'll have fun taking pictures and then playing with them on your computer to make your photo look "old." Also take some jeans and a flannel shirt and you'll have a movie studio publicity shot to show your friends.

Our regret was not having more time. We are from the east coast and while we expected traffic, we were not prepared. The GPS told us it would be about a 20-minute trip from Universal City area... it took 90. The return was slightly shorter.

I wish we had time to hike and explore a little more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 886SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun western site and Dr. Quinn”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Any fan of the Dr. Quinn show HAS to visit here! The area is very beautiful as well. Has been a site for other films too of course, so it's fun to pick out what each building used to be and imagine them filming there. It is smaller than I thought, they must have used lots of angles for the cameras to not get other things in it and make the town look larger. I think children would enjoy it, if not as a film site, then as an old western town.

Sadly, handsome Sully was not here :)

Also the drive up to the ranch goes past people's livestock areas, don't miss the miniture ponies. It is a little tricky to find, make sure you look it up, as my gps couldn't get me right there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LOBSTERStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neat town.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Make believe old west town was interesting for a New Yorker. Nice hiking trails in the area. I'd recommend it for anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Step into movie history or just enjoy a hike.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a park and a movie set. You've probably seen it in something if you're older than 12. The Western Town provides a memorable backdrop for family photos. Its great for families and for film buffs, there are some real gems. Elvis drove a race car here! Heck, the whole place used to be a race track! You'll have a tough time imagining that as you walk the grounds. it looks nothing like it did way back when. then again, you may sense a familiarity with the place. you've seen it before. The park itself offers some nice views and a little bit of everything. You'll find plenty of picnic tables in the Western Town Pavilion or there's a big open space near the entrance for a blanket style spread. There are public restrooms and if you are lucky, you'll get a few points of interest from one of the many knowledgeable rangers who work in and around this park. On weekends, model aircraft enthusiasts fly R/C planes at the far end of the park. You might see some real dare-devil dog-fights! Please be sure to read the signs regarding pets - dogs are allowed but must be leashed. Oh, and there may be snakes. Rattle snakes are not uncommon here so, keep a close eye on your kids and pets. Be smart, be safe and you'll take home a truckload of memories. Best of all... It's totally free!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Actual_User
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Western Town, Wilderness, Hiking”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my third trip to Paramount Ranch (not counting when it was the site of Renaissance Fair many years ago). The first time an episode of Dr. Quin, Medicine Woman was being shot and all the Western Town building interiors were dressed. I was lucky that time, usually, as with this visit, the town is a quiet movie set of rickety buildings, as most sets are. The Western Town is the main fucus of the park, but there are miles of hiking/equestrian trails, a bit of an old auto race track, and wilderness. It is nice in spring, a bit warm in summer, and not bad in winter. It is part of the Santa Monica Mountains National Recreation Area and adjacent to several other former movie ranches and ranches of wealthy people, including Actor Ronald Reagan and King Gillette.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing