We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss charm!”

Wiederkehr Wine Cellars
Ranked #5 of 6 things to do in Altus
Attraction details
Unites States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Swiss charm!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I absolutely love this place! Everything from the delicious wine to the great atmosphere makes it such a unique place to stop by if you are ever in the area. It is such a nice change from most things in AR, and you really wont fine anything quite like it around. We love spending an afternoon here, specially during fall. Have something yummy to eat at the restaurant which has great ambiance and delicious food from the German, French, and Italian regions of Switzerland (I recommend the quiche lorraine, pork cutlets or sausage sampler). After having your meal definitely do some wine tasting and support the economy of family owned business by purchasing some of their delicious wine ( my favorites are Blush Niagara and Red Muscadine).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    14
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The standard for wineries in Altus”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This winery is probably the oldest in the area. Although the buildings show some sign of the ages, that adds to the atmosphere. The tasting area reminds me of an old time western bar. Staff was friendly and prompt to fill your request for tastings. Interesting choices of other things outside of wines (BBQ sauce, rubs, jams and preserves, garlic stuffed olives). We were there with a group of ten and had a great visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1969RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Wine, Good Food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice place to have a meal, try a wine or just hang out. It's in the middle of nowhere so if you're going, plan to spend the day at all the wineries in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the Bistro”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The old bistro / restaurant is one of the greatest and most historic places in Arkansas to eat. The food was terrific. The grounds need some work - it used to be a bigger tourist stop - but the restaurant is a treat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaggyScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wiederkehr Wine Cellar restaurant was recommended to us by locals shortly after we moved to the area. Hubby and I decided to try it as it sounded like a nice place to celebrate our anniversary. While the ambiance is charmingly old-world Swiss and the wait staff friendly, we were sadly disappointed. The wine was marginally drinkable, heavily influenced with muscadine grapes which are an acquired taste. The food was just awful. Hey, listen, I've been to Switzerland and had good Schnitzel. The Matterhorn Schnitzel was abysmal. Gravy laden, it appeared to have been soaked in it for awhile, leaving the breading soggy. It sloughed off in limp hunks and the meat was tough. Their specialty potatoes tasted old and were underseasoned. I wouldn't be at all surprised to discover they'd been made a day or two before and barely reheated.

Verdict: I won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank TravlurGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiederkehr Wine Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Wiederkehr Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing