We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, not so nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avondale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here after reading the great review and because we are Hilton member. Check in was fast but the front desk person was not too friendly. We were told we were going to have a nice room with a pool view however the view from the living room of the suite was actually of the rooftop and you could see a little of the pool from the bedroom. The room was nice, very clean and I was very happy with the fully equipped kitchen. Was also pleased they provided breakfast as well as dinner. Although we went out to dinner, we went downstairs for breakfast. They had just ran out of eggs and when we asked the staff member if they would be replenished soon, she seem very irritated and hastily answered us under her breath and went to the back. We then decided to go to breakfast elsewhere. The morning front desk person was very nice and greeted us each time we walked thru. I would recommend friendlier check in staff and breakfast staff as those people are the ones most guest will have interaction with. We stay at Hiltons on a regular basis and although the room was definitely Hilton standards, the Customer Service needs to be improved. Only other issue was a cricket we found in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afuchs, General Manager at Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review. I want to apologize that my staff did not meet your expecations while you were here. I would love for you to contact me directly so that we may discuss this further.

We always strive to provide excellance in customer service and want to make sure that each and every guest is 100% satisfied with their experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

I won't go over what others have said. It's a clean, newish hotel that is overall very nice. Friendly, responsive staff, ok breakfast-, small ok pool for a quick dip
Our cons with the hotel would not allow me to recommend it as an option for families.
1- traffic noise. It is right next to the highway & motorcycles zoom by about every 15 minutes all night long- the ac fan will not cover the noise & if you aren't a heavy sleeper they will be an alarm clock for you. To be fair it did not wake my husband, but neither do fire alarms.......
2- the sofa bed is HORRIBLE. It's the worst I've ever run into & I travel a lot. My 7 year old get up crying in the night begging to fly back home. We had to buy an air mattress & pump. Thankfully there was enough space for it in the bedroom of the suite or we would have had to change hotels.
3- wireless- we have been here 2 days & have not been able to get it to recognize our login informaiton. Front desk states to call the "1-800-there-is-no-way-we-will-help-you-number."

If you are a solo traveler or very small family who want to sit at a desk with a LAN cord, not use the sofa bed & can sleep through loud traffic noise this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Growing2BoysInCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afuchs, General Manager at Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. We value all of our guests and always welcome all comments and criticisms as these will only assist us in finding solutions and ways to further improve our guests satisfaction!

Thank you again and make it a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 8 days and every day the entire staff was friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for was taken care of immediately and with great attitude. The entire front desk personnel couldn't have been more helpful. With the breakfast and dinner, the value could not be beat.

Room Tip: I beleive every room is the same, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stay here almost everytime we go to the Phoeinx area. We love the two bedroom suites and it is close to most everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamahagirl1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your continued business! We enjoy having you as our guests as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed three nights while visiting Phoenix. Typical Garden Inn-Hampton-Homewood type experience, with the added note of a very pleasant staff. Everyone greets you from the housekeepers to the front desk at every turn. Sure make you feel welcome! The property looks quite new, was very clean, also they have on scene security (although the neighborhood is very safe-- the surrounds are new subdivisions and farmer's fields). Close to freeway. There is a casual restaurant nearby, but as far as I could see you need to drive to anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelGrantsPass_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing our Homewood Suites in Avondale! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent last week here during our vacation to Arizona with our 2 boys, ages 9 and almost 15. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom 2 bath suites. It was very quiet and comfortable. The king bed in the master bedroom was far superior to anywhere else we have ever stayed. The breakfasts each morning were a great start to our day and a cut above your typical hotel breakfast. On week nights from 5:00-7:00 they serve complimentary drinks (beer & wine) and dinner. This allowed us to save quite a bit of money on our meals. The pool is wonderful with towels laying out on the lounge chairs and multiple umbrellas provided for shade. If you are looking for great value and hospitality in the Phoenix area, this hotel is for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdoneal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afuchs, General Manager at Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! The 2 bedroom suites are the best and you're right - the beds are awesome! Come back anytime - we will be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Homewood Suites in Avondale is my FIRST choice whenever I have out of town guests or family to house. Its proximity to many things (Phoenix International Raceway, downtown Phoenix, the Cardinals Stadium, Randall McDaniel Sports Complex) makes this an ideal stay. Customer service and friendliness of the staff can't be beat. The Hilton Garden Inn next door is also a great another great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afuchs, General Manager at Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad to know that you will always choose us for your travel needs!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avondale
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix/Avondale
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Goodyear
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix West/Avondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Goodyear
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale

Address: 11450 W Hilton Way, Avondale, AZ 85323-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Avondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avondale
Price Range: $103 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-10 and Avondale Boulevard, in the progressive West Valley corridor of Phoenix. We are very close to restaurants, golf, shopping, movie theaters and other attractions such as the Jobing.com Arena, Phoenix International Raceway and the new University of Phoenix Stadium! You can relax knowing the quality and assurance of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Avondale has to offer being a part of the Hilton Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Phoenix-Avondale Hotel Avondale
Homewood Avondale
Homewood Suites Avondale
Avondale Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing