We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Orchid Garden

Thai Orchid Garden
Ranked #12 of 143 Restaurants in Avondale
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Once I found this gem, I go twice a month or more. It is close to home and on my day off I head there for some tasty Thai food. The service is terrific. The place is cozy. The food is always so tasty and enough that I take home a box for leftovers the next day. My favorite is curry...I'm trying all the curry dishes..and they are so flavorful. Wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Gotta look to find this little strip mall place on the south side of Indian School but it's worth finding. Really great flavors and textures. Excellent service and warm welcome. Our favorite in the West Phoenix Valley.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Colleague and I ate here early on a quiet Sunday evening. I understand it gets packed, but at 530 there we plenty of seats in this small strip mall restaurant. It is nice, but not too fancy, and think kids would be welcome.
They offer beers, wines, and sake, but no full bar.
The server appeared immediately, handing out menus and taking drink orders. They menu is large, with many tradtional Thai and Chinese food offerings, Menu prices are odd. Entrees run between $12 to $15 on average, which is a good deal, considering quality and quantity. However, items like wonton soup are about $9, much more than the average. for this reason, we did not order apps or soups.This leads to my only complaint: starters are expensive and they do not provide anything like fried wontons or small house salad or....well, anything. If all you ordered is dinner, all you'll be getting is dinner. Just be aware, especially if you are going in there with hungry kids.
That being said, dinner came and it was terrific. I had the roasted duck with broccoli and my friend had spicy sweet and sour chicken. Both dishes were very well prepared, very fresh and extremely tasty.
Bill for two, no apps, no drinks, was $29, before tip.
Based on this experience, I'd go back again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lclarknj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We go to Thai Orchid Garden about once a month at lunchtime and once in a while for dinner and takeout. The food is very good and fresh. The lunches are a bargain and include a small bowl of soup, wonton and spring roll. They will always ask how hot you want your dish. Be advised mediun heat at this restaurant my be too hot for most people. If you order hot be prepared to wipe the perspiration off your forehead.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwcorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Thai Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing