We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“st and Last time at Ruby Tuesday”
Review of Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesday
Ranked #16 of 144 Restaurants in Avondale
Cuisines: American
Description: Located just south of I-10 on Avondale Blvd. Located nest to the Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites.
Restaurant details
Description: Located just south of I-10 on Avondale Blvd. Located nest to the Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“st and Last time at Ruby Tuesday”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We met some friends for dinner at Ruby Tuesday Avondale last night.

Upon entering, we noticed the salad bar which looked great. Very clean and fresh veggie options.

We sat and ordered drinks, all came back wonderful.

We ordered our food and this is where things went horribly wrong.... There is just NO WAY to substitute or adjust their menu. I asked if the Thai Veggie Rolls could be made WITHOUT THE CHECKEN... and the server advised me there is no way since that is how they come in.... So I asked, "are they not made fresh in the kitchen?" and he quickly changed the story saying they are PRE MADE early on in the day. Still, he went and asked the manager and they came back with - NO EXECEPTION.

OK, whatever -

We asked for a veggie trio, I asked for grilled Zuccini, Sweet potato fries and baked potato- PLAIN.

Presentation was nice, however, the taste was something else.

Zuccini was tender and flavorful
Sweet potato fries were nice and crunchy, I asked for honey, ---YOU GUESSED IT, NO HONEY
Baked potato - This is where the wheels came off the bus.... It was DRY, sooo DRY , almost fake. the skin was tough and leatherlike, The inside was soo soooo DRY, I couldnt eat it.

So here is my assumption. There are no "COOKS" at this establishment. All Dishes (with the exception of the salad bar) must come already PRE-MADE and they either or thaw and reheat everything once its ready to go to the client.

I wont go back because its not real food. Its frozen dishes that are reheated.

The server was nice - at least he tried.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great salad bar, menu had variety, good location. Walking distance from Hilton garden inn and Homewood suites

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mljack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Distant second to RT in Mitchell, South Dakota--will not return”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

i was so impressed with my first ever visit to RT in South Dakota a couple of weeks ago that i suggested to family that we meet at the Avondale restaurant for dinner. Next time i want to go to Ruby Tuesday with family, i will ask them to meet in Mitchell!

We were all looking forward to the salad bar. When it was our time to go through it, we found that most of the lettuce containers were nearly out of all 3 selections, that the peas were completely gone and that the tomato slices were far from ripe. Clearly, who ever was in charge of replenishing items was not getting the job done and the person who cut the tomatoes cannot tell the difference between orange (unripe) and red (ripe) tomatoes.

Next disappointment was equally unexpected. Well after placing our dinner order, the waitress returned to our table to tell my wife that the baked potato she had ordered would take an additional 15 minutes to prepare and would she like to change her order so her food arrived with the others?

Since that was all my wife had ordered for her dinner, no, she did not want to change her order. How does a restaurant run out of baked potatoes at 7 p.m.? And how long does it take to microwave a baked potato at Ruby Tuesday?

i ordered the new dish on the menu, shrimp and grits. The menu stated it came with andoui sausage and bacon. There were tiny bits of bacon in mine, but no sausage. It was good as delivered, but would have been better had it had any identifiable sausage. Was this dish so new that the cooks forgot what the ingredients were supposed to be?

Somehow, in preparing to deliver one of the hot dishes to a member of our group, the waitress mishandled the plate and it fell on the table behind us and shattered. She did have the kitchen replace his meal (he and his wife asked for one order to be split) and they brought him a full portion rather than a half portion. But his meal arrived at the earliest 10 minutes later. Do not know if they comped his meal or not as we all paid separately.

Despite all the flaws, we had an enjoyable evening. Unfortunately, the food that night did little to add to the enjoyment. Had a manager come by, at least we would have had an opportunity to report things and try to make things better for future diners. Perhaps the lack of management was the reason for things running less than optimally.

Oh. On our way out, i noticed one of the hostesses retrieving supplies (glasses?) from an overhead storage area above the bar......by walking in her shoes on the bar. On the bar! All we could do was shake our heads on our way out and wonder what happens back in the kitchen after seeing what happens in the dining area.

What a disappointment. Perhaps this review will get some attention and improve the quality at this location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food choice and friendly staff. I liked the choice at the salad bar which had a lot of items and a fair price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 20hillview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not to impressed...”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We just stopped for a quick bite, and was a little turned off due to the cleanliness. All the cutlery and glassware were very dirty. Wine glass had lip marks. The booth we sat in also was not cleaned up from the last people with potato all over the seat. Food however was good. Server was also attentive

Helpful?
Thank Vav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Tuesday also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ruby Tuesday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing