We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better value than many other Fast Food Restaurants”

The Greek Gyro Express
Ranked #14 of 143 Restaurants in Avondale
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better value than many other Fast Food Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found this place when we moved here. Even that we don't eat out a lot, I would prefer to come to this Gyros place before going to another Fast Food restaurant as the value is better and it's not always the same Hamburger-food. I agree with the previous reviewers. Nothing fancy, but clean, free and good soup (would say it's home made), friendly staff. I eat always the same menu #1 combo (Gyros with fries, around $ 8), so I can't say anything about other menues. Other people must like it too, because sometimes you have to bring a little waiting time. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Free Soup!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Love this place nestled in a shopping plaza by SAMs and a furniture store they have a true Greek Family atmosphere happening in this place. The prices are ok and the food is pretty good, but what I really enjoyed the free soup they offer its wonderful!!
Check this place out and don't over order as you get a bowl of free soup!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandRSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OPA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our new go-to spot when we don't feel like making dinner at home. All I can say is that they do it right every time. The food is fresh and delicious and the portions are very generous. You will not be disappointed when you visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank UoMdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Gyros In Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love it here. Free soup and very fast service. Food is so tasteful and cheap... I always get the gyro plate with fries... you have to try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbykakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OPA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

An unexpected treasure in a strip mall. Great Greek food and pleasant family atmosphere. Free soup! The Greek salad is our favorite - big enough for two to share.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunnidancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Gyro Express also viewed

Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Greek Gyro Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing