We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Owners, Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago's Number One Gyro

Chicago's Number One Gyro
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Owners, Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a whole in the wall if I am being honest. However the owners are from greece and have brought that Greek Hospitality with them. I love the chicken kabob salad, delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
2 reviews
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great food, great service, great people. What more is there to say. My friends take their kids to Sonic on Wed. for the kids special. I love the choice in shakes. My kids always want to eat here because of the after 8pm special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Eats and Great Folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

There have been four or five restaurants in this building over the years, and now we finally have a keeper. Great food, friendly people, and reasonable prices. A hard combination to beat. The Souvlaki Salad is my personal favorite. We eat here regularly, at least 2 times every week, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill77435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gyros like you were in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Today was the fourth time that we have been to Chicago's #1 Gyros Restaurant. We always have the gyros sandwich since it is just like what we used to get in the Chicago area. The place is small with seating for about 30. There has usually been waiting line af about three of four at the order counter but never for a table. They also seem to do a good takeout business. The gyros has always been great and include plenty of meat. I recommend it to anyone that likes that a good meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, just great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Okay, so the place looks like the waiting room of an ER you would never want to visit. Stand in line at the counter, place your order, and take a chair that might not hold you up. You'll never see this place on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives because it is....well not quite that upscale.

Don't like the atomosphere? Get it to go like we do! This is just plain good Greek food. The gyros are very good, as is the souvlaki. The pitas are soft and delish. I like to get the plates because I really like the rice, not to mention the olives and feta on the salad. The prices? OMG! If they raised the prices, they could get some new chairs! You couldn't make it at home for these prices! Did I mention that I always get a side of dolmas when I order? The yogurt dip is to die for. Gang up on these folks, eat good food and get them some new chairs!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago's Number One Gyro also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chicago's Number One Gyro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing