We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dining Room Cafe

Dining Room Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Recently attempted to enjoy lunch here with my family and friends at The Dining Room Cafe and left in under a minute. The waitress was extremely rude and unprofessional regarding an error the resturant made. I will absolutely never return and advise friends and family to dine elsewere.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C_man84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good breakfast spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stopped here in search of a different restaurant and decided to take a chance when we saw locals coming and going.
The waitress was a real hoot and the food was good. The veggie omelet
was excellent, coffee was refilled quickly and dirty plates removed immediately.
The place doesn't look like much from the outside but itt's curtly decorated and clean.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chellfgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food, Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stopped in here for lunch on the way to Goldfield Ghost Town. I had a burger, my husband had the BBQ sandwich and my son had the grilled cheese. We all enjoyed our food, and the service was great. There were lots of locals at the restaurant. They were out of the type of soda my son wanted, so they gave him a free piece of pie... which was totally unexpected and very nice. The pie was excellent! They had a great selection of pies, and we would have loved to try some of the other pies as well, but were too full from our meals.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tawneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great People and Good Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

First - it's not "Formerly the Speckled Hen"! That restaurant was the previous tenant of the location. It was a completely different business, different owners and nothing to do with the Dining Room Cafe and I'm glad about that!

Jim and Mary Jo have worked hard to create a home style cafe with good food, great service and good prices. We eat there regularly - usually breakfast and dinner - and are always treated like family. My favorite breakfast is the Veggie Omelet - if you get it "fully loaded", it includes not only the usual onions, mushrooms, peppers and tomatoes, but it also includes spinach and broccoli. Believe me, it is LOADED! Their pulled pork sandwich is a favorite of my husband. We enjoy their fish fry and the nightly specials like meatloaf (there's literally a "mountain" of meat on the plate) and liver and onions. With breakfast, you may choose the usual hash brown potatoes or have a cup of fruit, which is prepared fresh every day with seasonal fruit, including raspberries, kiwi, tangerines, pears, plums, etc. Just about everything at the Dining Room Cafe is homemade - right down to the cream of mushroom soup with wild rice and bacon (another favorite of mine!).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebWfromAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Dining Room just opened and it's already a fav in our house. Perfect neighborhood breakfast place. Large portions, endless coffee and cheerful smiles all around.

The restaurant is located in a small strip mall and is a little tricky to find but don't let that stop you. If you're heading out of town to the east - Apache Trail, Roosevelt Lake, Lost Dutchman, Globe, Tonto - this is your place to fuel up with good food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulKonrardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room Cafe also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dining Room Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing