We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA

LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Are you looking for a place to take visiting friends or family? How about a place to go on a leisurely drive or a motorcycle ride? A place that's just a little different than most. A place with wonderful desert scenery and beautiful lake views. A place you can sit and enjoy a meal while taking in all the wonderful Arizona scenery. "Casual Dining with an Elegant View" That's what is offered, so don't wear a suit and tie. Put on your shorts, sandals and favorite Hawaiian shirt and stop in for one of our great Margaritas or Pina Coladas. Sit on the patio and feed the many fish and waterfowl that beg for food. If you like it cooler, get a table inside the dining room or just sit at the bar and relax. All tables offer a beautiful view of Canyon Lake. If you love fish, come on Fridays and order the Best All-You-Can-Eat Fish Fry around. Lakeside Restaurant & Cantina at Canyon Lake Arizona is the ultimate destination for everyone. Serving lunch 7 days a week, breakfast on Saturday and Sundays, and dinner on Friday, Saturday and Sunday; Lakeside Restaurant has it all. From great Daily Specials to fantastic burgers, salads, sandwiches, and dinners featuring steaks and seafood, there is an entree that will please your palette.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
453 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked a cruise on the Dolly Steamboat for 2pm this Sunday afternoon and decided to have something to eat first.
We very pleasantly surprised by this nice little place right on the water's edge, adjacent to the marina and the boarding area for the Dolly Steamer.
The menu is complete and the staff is very friendly. The restaurant has an outside dining patio, as well as large viewing windows to watch the busy harbor while you are dining. Prices for lunch range from $5.99 to $12.99 and the food is served at the correct temperature and attractively. Breakfast items (until 11am) and dinners are also served. There is also a bar. Two-for One Apple Pie for $2.49 was the special of the day. It turned out to be one large piece cut in half, but it was just the right size for after lunch, and was homemade. The restrooms were clean and stocked, but the ladies room was quite small for the number of people using it. If you sit outside, be sure to save some of your lunch to feed the Mallards, which flock to the water beneath the patio and 'ask' for their lunch!
Because of the relative isolation of this marina, some food would be needed, but to find this nice little place right there, was more than we expected, and we were quite pleased.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    30
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view - TERRIBLE service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

VERY slow - excuse was that there was a party of 11 just before us. But the whole restaurant was less than 1/2 full.

Wait staff paid little attention (coffee/iced teas not refilled, for example), food was quite ordinary.

The Canyon Lake view is wonderful - but that's about all this restaurant has going for it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“View is nice, but food isn't worth it. Eat somewhere else, or bring your lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I think the only reason someone eats here is that they came to take a cruise on the dolly steam boat and don't have a choice. But it's better to drive back to GoldField ghost town or somewhere else.

1) Sliders were on sale so we ordered them with cole slaw as a side. These were the 3 tiniest slldiers I ever saw. It seems like they could have come from costco frozen food section. Very Very small and not worth the price. The onions on the sliders looked like and tasted like re-constituted onions.

2) the coleslaw was among the worst I've had. When the waitress was questioned she admitted customers either loved or hated them. She did give us replacement soup which was actually not too bad.

3) Apple pie was on sale: 2 slices for 1. But what arrived where two very small and thin slices of apple pie. It was like they took one piece of pie and cut it in half for the 2 for 1 sale. seemed like it might have been one of those apple pies you buy in the frozen food section and bake in the oven. A rip off for restaurant pie. Usually you expect a bigger thicker slice

4) We were in a hurry and service was a bit slow (especially considering the place was almost empty). So we took the bill to the front cash register to pay. (when you see a cash register up front, you assume it is a valid place to pay, right?) But we were told by the person at the cash register: "You're supposed to pay your waitress" and he wouldn't ring us out. What? Is that the proper way to treat a customer? Why does it matter who rings you out? And even if it does, you don't make the customer feel stupid.

5) By the way, the bowl of chili was pretty good, so one thing was good. But the rest of the experience was poor.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TOM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery, horrible wait for food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

It is tempting to stop at this restaurant when you see the view. The food is OK, but when we were there (between 1-2pm), the wait for our food took an hour. The restaurant was not full, but we were told they had only one cook that day. While we waited, we saw no food arrive at any of the 4-5 tables near us for over a half hour. By the time we saw the waitress bring out two plates of food for one table, she could no longer find the customers. They appeared to have left. We decided to stay because the view was so nice. It was 20-30 minutes longer before we saw any additional tables served. Once the food arrived, it was OK, but nothing special. I might stop at the picnic area next to the restaurant if I found myself on the Apache Trail again, but I would not recommend the restaurant. (I gave the restaurant a rating of "2", only because the view deserved a point. Otherwise, I would have given it a "1").

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The WORST Restaurant ever, Kitchen from Hell, and the Devil herself serving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

The WORST Restaurant ever, Kitchen from Hell, and the Devil herself serving

1) Wait time to be seated - Normally if a restaurant is full and one table is available you'd be excited if you were next, but when half the restaurant is empty with 15 open tables it's actually very annoying to have to wait 20 minutes and constantly being told we need to wait a few more minutes seeing how busy they are! Yes it was Fryday night 3/18/11 and it took us 45 minutes just to drive from the city into the canyon and through the windy roads of the Tonto National Forest to get to the isolated LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA going back was no option for 5 of us who were ready to have an All You Can Eat Fish & Chips dinner. (RATED: AWFUL)

2) Wait time to take dinner order – The cashier got us to a table and turned out to become our waitress she gave us menus and stayed at the cash register forgetting about us for another 20 minutes. Perhaps we should have read the menu another few times to pass the time but reading it was beside the point since we all were here for the All You Can Eat Fish & Chips dinner. (RATED: AWFUL)

2) Wait time to be served – This had to be the WORST waste of time ever no food was being server to us as it turned out the cashier that took our order did not place it with the kitchen but held on to it only to eventually pass it off to another waitress who then took the order in late. YES we arrived at 5:45 PM and dinner got to the table by 7:00 pm the restaurant closes at 8:00 PM (RATED: WORST)


3) Food Quality and Presentation – As soon as the food arrived thinking ahead perhaps ordering the second round of ALL YOU CAN EAT FISH & CHIPS might be a good idea since our first serving took over 30 minutes. But taking the first bite confirmed we just entered The Kitchen from HELL – burned fried fish all dried out and crunchy not even close to eatable. Hungry as we were trying to find just a small portion of fish that was not over cooked was like digging for gold in a dried out mine. (RATED: WORSE THAN WORSE)

4) Responsiveness and knowledge of servers – NEVER ask for seconds in this restaurant if you don’t want your head bit off by a YELLING waitress saying she’s been working since 10:00 AM and that we should not complain about waiting since she was tired. Perhaps the waitress had a bad day but yelling at customers who came for ALL YOU CAN EAT our expectations are at least that we could get a 2nd round of Fish and hopefully not dried out and burned to a crisp. Any waitress that yells at customers perhaps should find a less stressful job like get an office job or just stay at home and make babies. If the kitchen is too hot then get out. Or as Donald Trump would say YOU’RE FIRED! (RATED: IS THERE ANYTHING WORSE THAN WORSE)

5) Noise level – ambient – Normally when the customers are chatting it can be noisy but when the ENTIRE restaurant stops talking because a raving waitress is YELLING at hungry and very patience customers….that NOISE LEVEL is just unacceptable . (RATED: IS THERE ANYTHING WORSE THAN WORSE)

6) Return Visit? Are you kidding NEVER!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRDiner1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing