We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiddne Treasure”
Review of Tal-WI-WI Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tal-WI-WI Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is an awesome place to visit with a group. My Harley Owners Group chapter came up here for an overnight ride and it was awesome!

The rooms are comfortable, the price is right, there's a great restaurant and bar, and where else can you wake up and watch the elk try and push over your bike?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Tal-WI-WI Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've stayed here several times now and usually don't make a decision until I experience how a place is kept up. This Lodge has it all, great rooms, great resturant, great area, great saloon and by far the best staff headed by the owner. The people in Alpine, AZ are very friendly and seem to stay close to one-another and are willing to lend a helping hand to outsiders. The buildings have been re-modeled and the owner has made a recent change to make you feel more at home and cozier. The owner is delightful and goes the extra mile to make sure you are satisfied. Whenever I head up to Alpine, this lodge will have my reservation again and again! Well maintained and very much rustic like a real lodge should be. Thank You "B"

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some have different amenities just ask and you will be surprised.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Tal-Wi-Wi is a beautifully located lodge nestled amongst the Apache Sitgreaves National Forest near the small mountain community of Alpine, Arizona. We had already booked a room in Alpine, but decided to stay here since this place was so much nicer. The owners and management are super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. The restaurant on the property serves great food at reasonable prices. The lodge itself has a rustic feel and a good selection of beer and wines and other spirits. The room was very clean, with a flat screen TV with Satellite and Wi-FI. The buildings have porches with chairs and tables, great to relax and unwind. Great Hiking trails nearby! Highly recommended, will definitely stay here again. Cant wait!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hot tub!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerryintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you want fine dining, breakfast and lunch onsite every day, and tons of extra amenities, don't come here. We did cheer
when the new owners replaced the horrible mattresses a couple of years ago. They added TVs and wi-fi as well for those who wish electronic communication.
The bar seems to be a great watering hole for locals and has an extensive selection of spirits.
We are just thrilled that they survived the Wallow Fire a year ago!
The Tal-Wi-Wi is close enough to Alpine, Springerville, and Greer that there are plenty of dinner options. There is in-room coffee, but bring breakfast or go to Alpine. I think most guests are enjoying the forest during the day and are not there for lunch.
We have stayed here for years and love having a reasonably rustic place to stay--close to the forest, to trails and beautiful drives, and to excellent dining options. Just sitting on the front porch enjoying the rain or going for a walk in the adjacent meadow or watching the fireflies in early summer are all the entertainment we need! This is a very relaxing and QUIET environment.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This property has so much potential. The last time I stayed there, the walls were paper thin (we could hear the people in the next room sneezing) and the accommodations are very basic with average cleanliness. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vodaelixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed for three days of hunting with my youngest Son. I could not have picked a better place. Fantastic location, great people, wonderful view of the mountains, and there is a restaurant and a saloon on location. The rooms are nice and clean, the heater worked well and quiet and plenty of hot water for bath or showers. the flat screen TV in the room is super clear and the queen size bed are very confortable. My next trip there will be with my wife for some fishing(lots of lakes around) and relaxation, and I can't wait! A little Gem in the middle of the mountains. Thanks Bea, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frogman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I have been coming here for several years. The new owners remodeled all the rooms with new beds, flat sceen TVs, windows, real wood paneling and soundproofing between the rooms. What a difference. Great new restaurant and fun bar. Place where the locals hang out. I always meet great people there. We spent last Christmas there and had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abdarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
18.6 mi away
Reed's Lodge
Reed's Lodge
#1 of 5 in Springerville
139 reviews
18.7 mi away
Rode Inn
Rode Inn
#2 of 5 in Springerville
52 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 5 in Springerville
84 reviews
2010.8 mi away
Lazy Trout Motel
Lazy Trout Motel
#1 of 2 in Greer
28 reviews
18.6 mi away
Springerville El Jo Motor Inn
Springerville El Jo Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Springerville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal-WI-WI Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal-WI-WI Lodge

Address: 40 County Road 2220, 4 Mi North Of Alpine On U.S. 191 Or Box 169, Alpine, AZ 85920
Location: United States > Arizona > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tal-Wi-Wi Lodge is a rustic mountain getaway from the big city, with a breath taking view of the White Mountains. There is a saloon and restaurant located on property, most weekends a live band is offered in saloon as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tal-Wi-Wi Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing