We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit in Alpine”
Review of Mountain Hi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Hi Lodge
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great time in Alpine staying at the Mountain Hi Lodge. When we visit Alpine we always stay here. We are treated very well, the rooms are always clean and we can take our dog with us. The rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I had such a wonderful time. Sharon, the manager, was so so so nice! She told us about all the things we could go and do, and places to eat, etc. She was so great. We can't wait to go back! We had a great experience. This is a nice, cozy place to stay and enjoy the weather and wonderful view. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Disregard the good reviews about this property. The place is under new management since these reviews were written, and has gone way downhill since. We booked a suite about a week in advance and at the time of the booking our credit card was charged for the full amount, five nights. This raised a red flag from the start, since most if not all other places hold your reservation with a credit card, and dont run it till you check in or check out. The place is in disrepair, it makes the Bates Motel look like a Hyatt. The room was dirty, dog or cat hair on the furniture and dead insects along the walls. We had a suite with a kitchen and a king size bed. The mattress on the pull out was paper thin, and the mattress on the King bed wasnt much better. It had a noticeable depression in the center. Our view was of a trailer park with trash all about. There is no continental breakfast. After staying just one night we had to get out of there. We tried getting refunded for the remainder of our stay, but the lady at the desk said it was out of her hands and that we had to contact the management via email, no phone number was provided.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerryintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLodgeOwner, Owner at Mountain Hi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

PLEASE-PLEASE READ OUR MANAGEMENT RESPONSE:
This lady, after staying one night, approached our manager in the morning and was so intoxicated that she was staggering. We asked her to leave after being belligerent to our manager (and we nearly called the Sheriff). This lady made good on her threat of a bad review after we refused to give her a refund (since she had booked out our only suite giving us no real opportunity to re-rent). As to her ridiculous assertions: (1) She was standing right next to the, in her slurred words, "crontinental bech-fast", so I don't know how she did not see it, (2) Our rooms are superbly cleaned and we always get rave reviews, minus this one, (3) The views from our motel are spectacular and a common reason folks stay with us, (4) We took over ownership May 31st, 2012, so most of the reviews are from when we took over. This lady's whole review is a lie! Please keep in mind our other reviews or drive up and take a look for yourself. We are very proud of our place, our rooms and the service we provide. For the safety and comfort of all our great guests, we felt compelled to ask this person to leave (thankfully it is a very rare occurrence). Thank you for reading our response and I hope we did okay on trying to right a very wrong review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Though there is no AC unit, there is a ceiling fan that worked great and our stay was in JULY!
The continental breakfast had a great variety of quick breakfast options and the coffee was awesome!
The lady that checked us in / out and replenishes the breakfast offerings was GREAT! She is friendly and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.
This is a very clean, comfortable, safe, friendly and affordable place to stay while in Alpine.
Will be sure to stay here again and will also let our friends and family know about the Mountain Hi Lodge!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Amazing value-never expected such a lovely place-super clean and comfortable.The front desk lady was the most helpful and friendly person at any hotel/motel we have stayed at.
I was concerned about what damage the large forest fire from last year could have had on this lovely little town.Well, I can tell you it did not harm it and you could not tell there was a fire unless you looked at the mountain tops around the area. Thank God this beautiful place was unharmed so we can continue to enjoy it.. What a hidden gem you have-you can be sure we are telling our friends about you!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed in one of the regular motels rooms ( no kitchen) the room was well suited for what I needed. This was just a place we stayed before and after a backpacking trip we planned in the National Forest. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The only draw back is no AC in the rooms! The temps at night do drop but it would have been nice to have AC. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road as the sun beats in the windows of the other set of rooms and wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borne2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Best place to stay in Alpine bar none. Wonderful rooms and great location. Very clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Hi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hi Lodge

Address: 42698 US Highway 180 E, PO Box 693, Alpine, AZ 85920
Location: United States > Arizona > Alpine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alpine
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing