We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun, relaxing, enjoyable 4th of July weekend spent in the White Mtns.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hannagan Meadow Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hannagan Meadow Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
alpine
1 review
“A fun, relaxing, enjoyable 4th of July weekend spent in the White Mtns.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We truely enjoyed our stay at the lodge.

The food was delicious, the entertainment was fun, the Coronado room was cozy, and the lodge personnel (especially Richard) were very inviting and hospitable.

The 4th of July display/entertainment was an appreciated and pleasant surprise.

Hopefully Hannagan Meadow stays somewhat of a secret for those who travel up to the White Mountains. I was amazed how few vehicles travelled on the 191/666 while we were there enjoying our time sitting on the front porch. Friends and family express the extra effort and time it takes to travel to Alpine as opposed to Pinetop/Lakeside. Some things in life are worth taking the extra effort and the weekend at the lodge was one of those experiences. This is a great way to enjoy the White Mtns without having to fight the crowds and traffic like there is in Show Low/Pinetop/Lakeside.
We plan on coming back soon and staying in one of the cabins with more family and/or friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    90
    28
    28
    18
See reviews for
68
189
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We rented a cabin for a couple days. It is rustic, not luxurious; older, but clean; basics were there and functional (after some effort}. Staff are "down to earth" folks that are a pleasure to deal with and seem to genuinely try to make the visit a great experience. Horse trails were beautiful, safe ride. Resturant was rustic with good food and fun entertainment in the evening. The real treat is the high (8000 ft+) mountain country with mucho wildlife to see in the early morning and evening. Although we didn't participate, the fishing was said (by other guest) to be a blast (catdh and release). Hikers and bikers seemed to be in heaven although it did rain a lot while we were there...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I had driven past Hannagan Meadow on a business trip, making a note to stop someday. We stayed three nights during June 2009, and found this to be an absolutely perfect spot to "unplug" from phones, e-mail, TV, etc. As this is a true destination spot, the traffic on Highway 191 was virtually non-existent. Other than the wind blowing through the pines and aspens, there is no noise at night.

The drive from Morenci was long on winding roads, but worth the extra time.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstracke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Recommendation: take the backroads to investigate the woods, streams and meadows.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kipod5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

It is a quaint little lodge with some nice character. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly, though are greeting upon arrival lack enthusiasm, Great hiking and biking trails are in abundance in the surrounding area. We liked the fact that there is no cell reception, no TV, radio or clocks. It is very quiet and dark at night and you can actually see the stars in the sky. Elk were abundant in the meadow across from the lodge at daybreak.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2HikeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

The service we received was great and the people were extremely friendly and funny. The area, of course, is beautiful and well worth the drive for us. However, the cabin we were in #11 and the one next to us looked, from the outside, deserted or abandoned with the broken mini-blinds in the other cabin and broken and taped windows in ours. Inside, while the rooms were mostly clean (bedding, kitchen, floors), there was much that wasn't. It is apparent that whoever does the cleaning does well with what they do clean, but don't seem to understand looking for cobwebs, dusting behind lamps and the lamps themselves, etc. The windows were dirty, which considering the views, seemed like an item not to be ignored. Also, the window sills were full of dead bugs. The way the ovens are tucked into a very small space with burn marks on the wall, seemed like a fire waiting to happen. There was also loose tile in the shower that looked like water could get in and cause water damage. It is not a good idea to assume that because the dishes are put away, that they are clean. We had to wash most of the dishes and cooking utensils before we could use them. The food caked on them was pretty obvious. Our impression was that whoever was cleaning isn't paying attention to or reporting problems in the rooms. One last thing, you really need to get a finish carpenter or someone who knows what they are doing to finish the base boards and windows sills, etc., correctly and you need a woman's touch with the decorating. Someone who knows something about the simple inexpensive touches that make a room feel attractive and cared for. So, why did we stay? My husband are campers and we love the area. However, a lot of people are not like us and will not put up with what we did, especially for what you are charging for the cabins.

Now that I said all that, we did talk to Bill, the wrangler guy, and he said that you all are working on upgrading and improving the place. We were very encouraged to hear this because, while we don't visit often, we do love Hannigan's Medow lodge and want to come back someday. We also want to recommend it to friends, but with the cabins we became familiar with, at this point in time we can't.

I wish we could give a better report. My husband and I talked a lot about the situation and we want to be honest. It is our strong hope that you do truly want to make improvements and make it a thriving wonderful place to come.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

We were on a motorcycle trip to ride the "Devil's Highway" in Arizona. Stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday. This is a quiet, peaceful, rustic lodge nestled in a pine forest. Everyone we met was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We had the rooms on the third floor. They were clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that they were warm even with the window open, probably because heat rises to the top of the building. Dinner was good but a little expensive for the steak. I'll be riding in that area and staying at the lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lscroggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hannagan Meadow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannagan Meadow Lodge

Property: Hannagan Meadow Lodge
Address: 23150 U.S. Highway 191, Alpine, AZ 85920
Location: United States > Arizona > Alpine
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hannagan Meadow Hotel Alpine
Hannagan Meadow Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing