We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and spend time talking with Wild Bill McLain”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hannagan Meadow Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great rustic authentic place. Only there for a good dinner but able to tour the lodge, reminded me of an adirondack lodge back East. We all got the specials (plentyful and good), But there is also a regular menu. After we ordered, an older cowboy ( and apparently for that Sat night our grill master) stopped by our table and just charmed us. Wild Bill apparently was in an ad within a G Q mag. Trust me, he will show you and you really do want to see it. He is such a wonderful genuine character, made our night. Be sure to take your camera and ask Wild Bill for a pic. Only charge is ( from the women ;) a hug!
Will go back, hopefully on a Sat night when Bill working, next time I'm in AZ.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ttsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the lodge because there were no cabins available. After one night we could understand why the cabins are preferable. The walls are so thin and the floors so creaky that sleep is a challenge. We had no problem negotiating the stairs to the second floor, but we saw seniors struggling, especially in the high altitude, with their luggage (no assistance offered by staff).
The manager of the lodge was not present during the days that we were there. It was evident that there were staff problems and that there are relatively common maintenance issues that are not being taken care of.
We noticed that the horses available for trail riding have severely nibbled their corral rails, a practice called cribbing. It indicates that there is a problem that can and should be corrected because the wood splinters are bad for them.
In the future we think that it would be better to stay elsewhere and just visit the restaurant. The pies and coffee are super.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inthemidst_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very helpful/friendly staff. Coronado Room clean and cozy. Excellent food at a fair price. Good WiFi both upstairs and downstairs with a Keurig coffeemaker in the comfortable upstairs lounge. Already planning to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SyburWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been to Hannagan Meadows many times over the past 30 years, with the kids, on a motorcycle with a group and in a car alone we love it here but this time was special it was our 30th anniversary and we wanted to get out of town and up into cool country, and there was no discussion about where to go. We are retired so we planned on staying during the week we were not the only guests there but we were made to fell like we were the only ones there. If you are looking for the Ritz this is not it and it does not pretend to be. It is clean, casual, rustic with a lot of old country charm. We have staying in the cabins and in the lodge all of the rooms have there own bit of character. A more friendly and welcoming place you will never find,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedomriderte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hannagan Meadow and Alpine is absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately, the cabin we stayed in at Hannagan Meadow Lodge was filthy. My husband and I travel a lot, both for work and leisure, and have stayed at other similar lodges in Arizona and I can say that this was the worse experience we have had thus far. The cabin was $200/night, which at other lodges would include meals or at least breakfast. Hannagan Meadow Lodge does not include anything. We expected a rustic cabin but instead we found the cabin to be filthy. There was an inch thick layer of dead bugs in every window sill, the sheets were dirty and stained and had clearly not been washed, the frig had food crumbs and spills inside of it, the back of the bathroom door was covered in dust and dirt as though no one cleans the floors, and the entire cabin just stunk of mildew and garbage. It was really disgusting. I don't even really have an issue with the lack of cleanliness of the cabin; I take issue with how much the Lodge charges for so little. I would have rather stayed at a Motel 8.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelBond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Three of us traveled from Ontario, Canada specifically to ride US 191 after finding it on Google Maps. It looked like the perfect "biking" road, which it was. Suddenly arriving after a long day at the beautiful oasis that is Hannagan's Meadow, we were grateful to find a cabin that could accommodate us and all of our gear. While the cabin was rustic, it was very clean and comfortable -- the kind of place you could stay for a week and just enjoy the silence and the smells of the pine forest. What really made it great, though, was the staff. Everyone was helpful, cheerful, and eager to please. Bill M. is worth the price of admission alone -- a true western character, guaranteed to keep you in stitches while keeping your coffee cup full. We enjoyed an excellent home-cooked meal and breakfast. The 7,000 mile round-trip we enjoyed was highlighted by our stay at this lodge and in this beautiful part of Arizona!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here. We stayed in the Coronado room - the room itself is very small, but was clean and comfortable. There are plenty of sitting areas in the lodge so it didnt really matter that the room was small.

We had a nice walk around the forest and meadow, and it was great to sit out on the porch with a drink and watch the world go by!

Dinner was pretty good. Service from both reception and restaurant was great.

It was a great spot to stay whilst on the road. I would love to see it in winter - i think it would be gorgeous!

Visited April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexlh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hannagan Meadow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannagan Meadow Lodge

Address: 23150 U.S. Highway 191, Alpine, AZ 85920
Location: United States > Arizona > Alpine
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hannagan Meadow Hotel Alpine
Hannagan Meadow Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing