We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast stop”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Anchor River Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was hungry for breakfast and stopped by chance at the Anchor River Inn Restaurant 34358 Old Sterling Highway, Anchor Point, AK 800-435-8531. I was quite pleased with the food and the service. I will stop there again soon before I leave the area. Different luncheon and dinner specials every day. Cooks choice. The prices are comparable to other dining prices for summer time in Alaska.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not family friendly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We were new to town and looking for a regular breakfast place for the weekends. Although the restaurant was nearly empty every time we went, the waitress got upset with is about our kids walking around while waiting for the food (yet they provide no coloring or toys for entertainment, nor any children's menu). Food was mediocre at best. After 3 visits we gave up. Now we drive into homer and go to Caribou or Duncan house.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sspencer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Prices for Alaska in the summer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate there every morning when we left our cabin in Anchor Point. The restaurant has lots of windows with a beautiful view. If you order the pancakes, be prepared. They are the size of a dinner plate!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sstarr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old landmark eatery is sinking like the Titanic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

When I was a kid every family from Homer and Anchor Point would head to the Anchor River inn for lunch after church. They were known for the best home-made pies on the planet. Ten years ago they had the best prime rib dinners and best rack of lamb that I have ever had (and I have been over most of the planet) BUT, the original owners have the years running against them and as management changed, so did the staff and quality. The place looks like it needs all sorts of renovation and the staff seems to change every couple of days. While you may have a good meal today, you probably won't tomorrow. As someone who grew up in the area, it is a sad thing to witness. We hope that somebody who knows what they are doing will buy the place, but they will need a big family since there are very few reliable workers in the immediate area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is a good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had breakfast there 2 days in a row. The service was fast and cheerful, the coffee was good and so was the food. I would definitely go there again. It was a good value because there was a $15 voucher from staying in the motel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor River Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anchor River Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing