We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place, Great Time!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Anchor Point Captain Cook Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Anchor Point Captain Cook Lodge
Anchor Point Captain Cook Lodge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Anchor Point Captain Cook Lodge
Anchor Point Captain Cook Lodge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Table
Ships Wheel and model ship - view from loft
Model Ship over Kitchen Cabinets.
Model Ship and Old Ship's Light over Kitchen Cabinets.
Den
Den
Den
Den
Den
Kitchen
Den
TV and Moose Rack in Den
Stairs to Loft
Looking up from the Den
First Floor Bath
Hallway on First Floor
Laundry Room
Queen Bedroom, first floor
Queen Bed of First Floor
Queen Bedroom on First Floor
Queen Bedroom on First Floor
Queen Bedroom on First Floor
Bull Moose - Hand Carved
Hand-Carved Door Decor.
Dahl Sheep - Hand Carved
Stairs to Loft
Queen Bed in Loft
Queen Bed and Twin Bed in Loft
Loft Bathroom
Loft
Twin Beds in Loft
Twin Beds in Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
Kitchen and Den from Loft
John, Owner at Bear Paw Adventure
Swan Door Carving
Photo of Captain James Cook
BBQ Deck with Table and Chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Anchor Point, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigha A
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place, Great Time!”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cabin was perfect for a weekend trip with a large group. John was very accommodating and easy to book with which made the entire process easier. The property was very well maintained and we had a wonderful time. The only downside was that we only got to stay one night! I would highly recommend a stay here.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
Thank you so much for staying with us. It is always a pleasure to see large groups enjoy our homestead property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maliya
England
2 reviews
“Great Lodge, full of characters!”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the 'Wise Old Hunter's Lodge' and it was everything it promised and more. The lodged fit 10 of us (5 adults, and 5 kids) comfortably. It was fitted with a full kitchen, games, cards and homey decor to include a huge collection of taxidermy. We felt very comfortable and even used the BBQ on the deck. As a few other comments mentioned, there isn't a huge amount of yard/outdoor space besides the deck in the back. We used the lodge as a rest and relaxation spot and ventured into anchor point and Homer for our activities. Overall it was a great stay and we definitely got the "lodge" experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The Wise Old Hunter is tucked into an area of the property among the spruce trees, alders and wildflowers, intentionally left natural so that guest experience a sample of wild Alaska. Many of our guests also enjoy our horseshoe pit, the picnic tables and playing a game of beach volley ball, all available on the property. Guests also enjoy hiking around the 14-acre homestead and enjoying the birds, wildflowers, trees and views on and from the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrot...
Bosch en Duin
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place with a few minor remarks”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Let's be honest about it. It is a great place, very clean and comes with all the amenities one may expect for this price. Owners were very helpful and in the cabin one can find helpful notes to simplify your stay.
Still we would like to make some minor remarks. The advertisement is suggesting a remote location and pictures added are supporting it. However the cabins are close to the main road, less than 50 yards. A big kind of a steel warehouse is visible from the deck. This is a bit different than we expected. Were we disappointed? Yes, a bit but for a short period of time.
Inside the cabin the shower head was leaking making a drippling sound on the ground. We had to put a spunge under it to get rid of this sound which was keeping us awake during the first night. Minor issue and easily solved.
Rating the matresses we realise it is difficult to satisfy everybody. One simply can't dance to the world. However we thought the matresses less comfortable than we are used to hiring a place to sleep.
Last but not least, we recommend the owners to add to the info about the heating system that it takes quite some time before it will start. We were confused and thought we weren't following instructions correctly. So, after some attempts we gave up and to our surprise after a few minutes the heat came in. Count for 3 -5 minutes.
As said, minor issues but good to know.
Will we come back? Sure!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to see that you plan to come back to stay with us again. Our website indicates that we are” located just off the Sterling Highway” and that the property is a “natural, nearly-wild Alaska homestead property.” For the most part, trees and alders block the view and most of the noise from traffic on the Sterling. Our use of the property is the first since the original homestead and we have kept it as natural as practical so that our guests enjoy and sample of rural Alaska. We don’t intended to represent the location as “remote” such as you might get with a fly-in location. However, we do offer a “nearly-wild experience” with the convenience of easy driving access to stores, shops and adventure tours.

We apologize for the dripping shower head, which has since been repaired. We put a new water well in service this past year and apparently some fine particles in the water had caused the shower valve to leak temporarily. We are on the property 24-7 to respond to issues such as this, and on your next stay, please don’t hesitate to let us know immediately about concerns. We use only high quality mattresses, which are replaced according to schedule. All the twin mattresses in the buildings, except those Moose Cabin, have been in service less than two years and those in Moose Cabin are scheduled for replacement in 2015. Thank you for the comment about the heater instructions – we will post additional instructions for the high efficiency heaters. It does take a few minutes for the heater to fire up and respond to set point temperature changes.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Seward
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful night's stay!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A friend and her daughter and I were in the area for the Kenai Peninsula Fair. I didn't want to drive three hours home so we booked the Moose Cabin. Such a haven! Very serene surroundings, everything in the cabin a person could possibly need, clean and welcoming, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would definitely stay here again!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D
Wyoming, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most wonderful and home like places to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were amazied with our choice to stay here.the owner John help us with our stay and gave us more things for us to do .were the stores were. Please check this out if you are going to be in the Homer area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck and homey feel
Liked least: No wood stove
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila P
Flint, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The cabin we stayed in was very clean and well kept. It was beautifully decorated and had everything we could have possibly needed. The beds were also very comfortable and I absolutely loved this place and will hopefully be back one day to enjoy it again. It is conveniently located on the highway and just a short distance to Homer where we spent some time fishing and shopping. My son is 14 and did not want to leave. This was both his and my favorite place that we stayed on our entire 2 week trip. I highly recommend this lodging and thank the owners for sharing this wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cabin itself was just as warm and inviting as it could be!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredjh...
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is fabulous and well equipped”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Baltimore Fishing Club had the distinct pleasure of residing at Bear Paw Adventure cabins for an eight day stay while fishing in Anchor Point and Seward for halinut and salmon. After searching the internet for what seemed an eternity I was finally led to these cabins by Cathy at Offishial Charter(by the way if you want to do halibut fishing Cathy and her husband run a first rate business great fisherman lovely people) 700lbs of fish caught. But back to the cabins, everything was well appointed the cabins were clean and fresh with towels linens washer and dryer the decor was superior which gave you the real feel of alaska complete with full size caribou dahl sheep bobcat and an enormous moosehead all of which were hunted by the owner John. Wide open and spacious tastefully decorated with internet cable and flat screen television. The back deck had two grills which we used extensively for grilled fresh fish and steaks. One of the real unique features of this place was the exquisite workmanship of the genuine log cabins that were our accomodations, most of the lumber used in the construction actually came from the property itself. John was the perfect host we saw him when we came he spoke to us as he went fishing had a brief conversation when we left. As there were no issues with the place he was the perfect host. Of course I could go on and on about amenites matching dishware fully equipped kitchen nice spacious bathrooms instant hotwater but I will tell you this it was one of the nicest most serene natural places that our club has ever stayed at. Suffice to say visit the website www.bearpawadventure lodge.com and you will see it as it is stay at the cabins and you will have a real Alaska experience complete with all the bells and whistles. BFC thanks you John for your accomodations and hospitality.Highly reccomended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, ambience an amenities
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing