We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for a better place to stay!”
Review of Anchor River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchor Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Anchor Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was my first trip to Alaska and I will definitely be returning. The Anchor River Lodge is not your typical bed and breakfast – with an exterior log cabin look, it is a beautiful modern home and the hosts are superb. Brian knows just about everything there is to know about fishing and is more than happy to share his knowledge with you. Janet was amazing! We went on a halibut charter fishing excursion one morning where we had to leave the lodge at 5 AM. But at 4 30 there was Janet, with breakfast ready and fresh coffee to go. The reindeer sausage and pancakes were unbelievable! The lodge sits atop a peak overlooking a local river filled with salmon. The views of the mountains are amazing. Being able to sit on the porch at 11 PM when it is still light out and having those views is not something you can get in many other places in the WORLD! Even if you are not an outdoorsman (I am not), this is definitely a trip that everyone needs to experience. There is a nearby Russian Village, views of local mountains, and horseback riding nearby. So there is something for everyone. I definitely recommend a trip to the Anchor River Lodge and I will be staying there next summer when I head back to Alaska!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Anchor River Lodge on our first trip to Alaska. It's close to fishing in Homer, yet you can fish in the Anchor River and there are charters in this area too. The hosts are fantastic, breakfast is awesome, the lodge and accommodations are just lovely. Even the packed lunch was superb. This was our best stay of the entire two week trip.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pemichongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed three nights in early September 2011. Brian and Janet are extraordinary hosts. Their home is magnificent with an awesome view! Janet's breakfasts were truly outstanding. Brian also provides fishing guide services and is very knowledgable. Rooms were very clean and nice. I would HIGHLY recommend a stay at Anchor Point Lodge!
- R & S Edwards

Room Tip: All the rooms have windows and beautiful views. Very clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The title says it all...already planning next year's trip! Brian & Janet open their home to you as a guest. They are great hosts. They are easy to talk to and are more than willing to tell you about the area. The view across Cook Inlet is breath taking and the lodge even more. By far the best B&B/Lodge we have stayed in. The fishing in the area is top notch. I hope you can eat, because Janet can cook!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mti771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I recently visited the beautiful State of Alaska. My trip was restful, yet filled with excitement and rich with pleasures and comfort. The quality of my visit was enhanced by the wonderful accommodations of the Anchor River Lodge. Janet & Brian are wonderful proprietors, who take great pride in their Lodge, and fully understand importance, of providing first class care and quality service. You'll feel that personal "at home" feeling during your stay, with spacious common area and can experience perhaps the most beautiful setting and scenery in Alaska as you gaze across Cook Inlet to experience a "sunset" over snow covered Mount Illiamna. If your Alaska travel plans include the Kenai Peninsula, a stay at the Anchor River Lodge is truly a must. Michael Griffin Portsmouth NH

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Beautiful home in a lovely, quiet setting. The hosts were friendly and very helpful with tips for enjoying the area. Only downside - most guests stay in the lower level of the home that has a very cramped common area. The large, idyllic house is "off limits" except for access to the dining table at breakfast. Lodge is relatively remote - so the absence of typical B & B offerings, such as beverages and light snacks, is a real minus.
The lodge could work well for folks who are largely out fishing in good weather. For families who may wish for an area to sit and visit, or for rainy times that bring visitors indoors, space is lacking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReetMunster_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brijanemard, Owner at Anchor River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

I apologize to "ReetMunster_IN" for the unfortunate gross misunderstanding of our lodge's guidelines and policies. In our history of serving nearly two thousand guests, this is the only circumstance of anyone ever having such a misconception. The only area in our beautiful lodge that is "off limits," except for when being served, is the kitchen facilities/dining table, where Janet is continuously preparing and serving home baked goods and meals. All other areas and amenities of our home are open for everyone's enjoyment at all times including the main floor seating area, deck, and TV room and this is routinely explained to guests upon arrival. Just to be certain, there is also a "Lodge Policy Sheet" posted in every room reiterating exactly that policy. Furthermore, as an unadvertised treat to our guests, every room is supplied with homemade cookies upon arrival. There is also a consistently stocked large fruit basket on the main level for everyone's enjoyment. We have "all you can drink" coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24/7. Janet also prepares homemade breads, muffins, and local dishes like smoked salmon dip that we routinely offer and share with guests. We offer all of these amenities, in fact, for a cheaper price than the majority of nearby hotels/motels that only offer you a simple room with a bed. Although our serene setting may seem remote, there are two grocery stores, a golf course, post office, 2 gas stations, and four restaurants within a mile. By Alaskan standards, this is truly exceptional. We offer far more than any typical Bed and Breakfast, as you can see by our website: http://www.anchorriverlodge.com. We only wish that these guests had expressed this misunderstanding during their stay so they could have more appreciated the first class experience that we offer at Anchor River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our stay at Brian & Janet's beautiful lodge was a definite highlight of our trip! Their hospitality, comfortable rooms and well-appointed atmosphere made it a home away from home. The breakfasts' were exceptional...Janet is a culinary genius so we highly recommend selecting the full breakfast option! We benefited from Brian's extensive knowledge of fishing and the area as he guided us on an unforgettable fishing excursion to Humpy Creek. We feel fortunate to have found this place and already plan to come back in the future with our two sons!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni31us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor River Lodge

Address: 33915 Sandbeach Rd, Anchor Point, AK 99556-9627
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchor Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anchor Point
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful B&B style Alaskan vacation/fishing lodge is located in Anchor Point Alaska, just 15 minutes north of Homer.Notice Mt. Iliamna in the left across the Cook Inlet. Try your luck fishing for salmon or trout in the river, go for a walk along the beach, or just sit back and relax. Watch eagles soar by, admire the breathtaking views, and fall asleep at night to the sounds of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor River Lodge Anchor Point, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing