We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly!”
Review of Hampton Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Auburn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Smelly!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here over the fourth of July holiday while visiting family and I must say that I was surprised. We have stayed here before and everything was great, but this time room we were in smelled horrible as well as the room our other family stayed in. Upon entering the hotel, the elevator had the same horrible smell...I'm not really sure what it was, but we told the staff and they gave us something to spray which made it worse. We ended up going to walmart to buy candles which we burned all night to mask the smell. We were not offered another room or anything to make up for this, which is unacceptable.

The breakfast was just ok...the eggs and turkey sausage were not tasty at all, but everything else was ok. We will not stay here upon our next trip to Auburn...so sad because I enjoyed our first stay here so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Auburn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for the GM, Debbie Kopp.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    115
    79
    34
    23
See reviews for
209
61
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keystone Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in Auburn, AL and found it to be very nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were traveling with and 4 and 2 year old and the pool was just what they wanted. Over all I would highly recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Auburn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that your children enjoyed the swimming pool and that our staff took great care of you! We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Entire staff was very nice. Check in easy, room very clean & comfortable; loved having refrigerator & microwave right there. Two queen size were perfect for my daughter and I. We toured Auburn University and it was a convenient location within 15 min. of campus. Complimentary breakfast & Happy Hour were tasty/convenient. After a very hot day at the campus, the Happy Hour was much appreciated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Room and bath were spotless and spacious with all the towels and amenities we needed. Hotel was quiet. Great value for the price. Coverlet laundered after each guest. Fluffy pillows. Fresh, free coffee in the lobby even late at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leigh Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The room was well appointed, the bed comfortable, and everything appeared clean. When we checked in the front desk clerk noticed that a better rate was available and marked down our price $5 a night. Not much, but still something I've not had happen before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just spent the last 3 days at Auburn for College War Eagle. The hotel is clean and is just a minutes from the Auburn campus. Check-in was easy and it is hard to beat free breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopShelfTequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The manager of this hotel was very helpful. I had two rooms reserved for a wedding we were attending. When I went to cancel the second room about 20 hours before the event, I was told that I needed 24 hours. I know the normal Hampton Inn policy was 6pm the day of so I was surprised at this. Long story short, I spoke with the manager on check in and he cancelled the extra room and put us in a King bed room (vs. two double beds).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Auburn

Property: Hampton Inn Auburn
Address: 2430 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-6920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auburn
#3 Business Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the I-69, the Hampton Inn Auburn puts you in a great position to discover all that Auburn has to offer. We also offer a great location if you are traveling to the Midwest cities of Chicago or Cleveland. Discover the much loved home of the Auburn Automobile Company—this friendly town is a haven for car enthusiasts and travelers on business alike. Within minutes of this comfortable hotel in Auburn, you can visit the popular attractions of ACD Automobile Museum, Hoosier air Museum and grab a bargain car at the Auctions America Auction Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing