We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel-great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Booked this hotel for an Auburn game so rated were up at bit, but with the free breakfast and walking distance ( 2 miles) to the stadium, we were pleasantly surprized. Room had refrid/micro. when we checked in the refrig wasn't working, within minutes they came to replace with a working unit. Don't be afraid. Not the newest or cleanest, but not scary either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

Wow what a great surprise, I highly recommend this hotel, it is very well run with a friendly staff, the rooms are very nice, and although the hotel is a little older in is in great shape and very clean. Did I mention it's a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCCoulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The stay at Lexington Hotel University Convention was great. The personnell was there and eager to assist. Everybody was friendly and supplied our every need. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The managers there not only managed but was there when we needed them. My hats are off to the staff and the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_blackmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The rooms are newly rennovated and well appointed & the staff is friendly and helpful. We came to Camp War Eagle for Auburn University. The hotel has a business center that my son could look up information about school; a workout facility that he was able to utilize; a pool for me to cool off in in the afternoon! The cost is reasonable and we're near enough to the school that we don't have to spend a lot of time traveling to get there...only 2 miles away!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCAuburngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I actually checked out of this hotel about 1 hour after arrival and checked into another hotel in Opeilika making this the first time in my life I have paid NOT to stay somewhere. The hotel is beyond filthy, seedy, and run-down. I travel for both business and with my family for frequent weekend trips. I have never seen a hotel in such a condition with such utterly complacent staff. Auburn is a small town with few available hotels during big events and the attitude here is definitely "take it or leave it." My advice is leave it- or never arrive at all. Better to stay in a nearby town than at this hotel, particularly if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytraveler080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The room was not ready when we got there even when arrived long after the check in time. We waited for almost an hour at the lobby. The toilet did not flush and we had to ask the maintenance guy who was also fixing next door. The room was dusty esp when we had the fan on. I should have brought my own beddings and towels. The shower room is filthy. One of the tiny bar soap they supply must have been recycled as it was wet and slimy when I opened it. I think it was sitting on the water and they wiped it dry. It was disgusting.

Don't be deceived by the facade of the hotel as behind it is the old motel style rooms with open/outdoor lobbys where you can hear everyone passing by your room. The elevator only goes up to 2nd floor so if your room is on the 3rd floor then you better have muscles. It has only one computer in the lobby for everyone to use. The pool looks dirty and I would not let my son near it.

It is cheap but NOT WORT IT. There are so many budget hotels around that offer a better service and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

This is a former Days Inn. It was while I was at college at Auburn (2000-2004) and must have just recently changed hands as the hotel room cards still had the Days Inn logo on them.

If you book on the website, be prepared for some issues. I booked a single room and somehow ended up with a reservation for two rooms. The staff seemed totally unsurprised by this.

The room was not ready when I arrived (even though it was well after check in time). I, along with several others, had to wait more than an hour for our rooms to be ready.

Hotel advertises free wireless internet. While it is true that there is wireless and it is free, the signal strength (at least in my room) is so low as to be totally unusable. The only place in the hotel that had a sufficiently strong signal was the lobby.

The room quality is what could best be described as typical for a motel built in the 70s. Maintenance needed some work; my toilet ran nearly constantly for the weekend.

Now, having said all that, the location is great - only a few miles out of downtown. It's easy to get to, convenient, and the price - low - is right.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codelemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Auburn
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 16 in Auburn
434 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
0.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Address: 1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5884 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: $72 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel University Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing