We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is beyond poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Plymouth Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place is beyond poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

This is the worst hotel I have ever been booked into, The room was so poor I didn't stay and drove down the road and found another that was cleaner and much better maintained.

  • Liked — Nothing to like
  • Disliked — Don't know where to start.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    38
    13
    17
See reviews for
61
12
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel last week and absolutely loved it! I stayed there about two years ago at my brother's graduation and found the place very spacious and nice. This time, however, I felt the property
was looking in even better shape. The landscaping was beautiful and the property was near spotless. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Liked — location-spacious
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank post123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

I stayed at this hotel because it was the location of a convention. Several members of our group had problems with their rooms. The toilet had no cover over the tank, just a piece of piece of hard plastic. The handle was not connected to the sink, it came off with each use. Another group had four rooms reserved at the hotel for the convention. When they arrived the front desk informed them that they had no more rooms. Every time we were in the lobby there were people at the front desk with some type of complaint. I will never come back to this hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank coach323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2005

Me, my husband and our soon to be college student daughter, stayed at this hotel while visiting Auburn University. I can only say that this is the worst hotel/motel that we have ever stayed at. We had to pack our things in the middle of the night and find another room at the Hilton Garden Inn and Suites. We were booked for 2 nights and only stayed 1. The rooms were filthy. Lights didn't work, phone didn't work, toilet ran for at least one half hour after flushing. However, we decided to stay since we were only there for 2 nights. The final straw was Friday night, the night before we were supposed to be leaving for our drive back to Pittsburgh the next morning. There was a huge party in the parking lot outside our door. I'm talking a ton of people. Driving in and out of the parking lot with their souped up basses blaring!! Apparently, they frequent the nightclub Benji's at this motel. When my husband went down to complain at the front desk, he was told that there was nothing they could do. He asked for a refund which was given but not gladly, and their reply was they make 1500.00 on a Friday night which was nothing compared to our 75.00. My husband told them that they should warn travelers that they will not get any rest here and you won't, at least on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

As a business traveler you look for several things in the place you lay your head at night. The last thing you need is an unfriendly staff, poorly kept rooms, or lack of overall service. The staff here is friendly, dependable, and provide excellent service to their costumer. Not only do I frequent a variety of hotels as I travel the southeast but I work in student housing (management) and know what to look for in housing of most any type. I highly recommend this hotel as the quality (e.g. maintenance) far outweighs the price. I will continue to stay here when visiting Auburn.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
204 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2004

This is a nice motel with a well kept pool area and good restaurant. It is an older property (formerly Quality Inn and Best Western again before that), but has been well kept over the years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is a good place to stay at a good price. Auburn University is just a couple of miles down the street.

Helpful?
1 Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 17 in Auburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
Address: 1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5884 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel University Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing