We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Pork Tips & Peanut Butter Pie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbecue House - CLOSED

Barbecue House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best old fashioned pit-cooked barbecue you ever tasted! Since 1978, Jeff Price and his family members have been serving Lee County’s best barbecue to locals and visitors alike. The second oldest restaurant in the city of Auburn, Barbecue House features old fashioned, homestyle breakfast, a full selection of pit barbecue items, and salads and sandwiches too! Mon-Fri 7am-8pm, Sat 10am-3pm.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Pork Tips & Peanut Butter Pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had an event recently at the Barbecue House in Auburn, Alabama and it was such a terrific experience. The owner, Jeff was simply delightful and his food was INCREDIBLE! Our whole dinner party loved the experience from the lovely people behind the counter serving sweet tea to the servers that consistently refilled the pork tips, bbq ribs, chicken and side dishes to the amazing pies that were passed out at the event. Overall a most incredible experience. If you go to Auburn, this location for BBQ is not to be missed! Enjoy every savory last bite, we all sure did!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    34
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just like I remembered 20+ years ago.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

That sandwich is just like it was when I went to school at Auburn. One bite and the memories flooded back. I love that sandwich.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellieww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food--great "Prices"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Price family has owned this restaurant in Auburn for many years. Convenient to the AU campus, it is a popular spot for students and townspeople. The breakfast menu is very popular and the BBQ dinners, sandwiches, and sides are great. I especially like the Brunswick stew. Conveniently located on College Street, the Barbecue House is a good choice for breakfast, lunch, or dinner--and the "price/Price" is always right!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodwaterbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, good BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went there on a Saturday, and they close around 3 pm. Selections were limited. No BBQ chicken which I had my heart (and stomach) set on!. Service just okay, college kids who were not very friendly.
BBQ plate was good. Considering the local prices elsewhere, very good value for the money. Stew was good. Everything was just that "good". Chair my granddaughter was sitting in was broken. Potato salad was a southern recipe, I enjoyed it. Grandkids loved the turkey sandwiches. Prices,again are very reasonable for the food you get. Good value for the money, but atmosphere and service good greatly be improved.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saundra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's good, not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

fun to eat here because it is across the street from the University and always there are students and professors there. Still, not the best in town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnslitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecue House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing