We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Cafe

Amsterdam Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Amsterdam Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 211 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lanett, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had never been to Amsterdam before and actually discovered it by looking on line for restaurants with gluten free menus. Well according to their website they offer a gluten free menu, but.... they do not! I was pretty upset to find this out after we were seated, but our waitress Mallory was amazing. She had so much knowledge about the menu and walked me through the entire thing explaining what would be safe for me to order. I ended up ordering the cobb salad which was very good, and my husband ordered the Amsterdam burger, which he said that he would def order again. The prices are a bit high, but the food was really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    85
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lost its touch!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have loved this place since the day my child arrived at Auburn, in fact dinner at Amsterdam's has always been something to look forward to, but I regret to report the place has lost its touch.

The menu is tired. Dishes are missing with neither interesting nor innovative items replacing them. Worse was the fact the food took forever to arrive and was cold. We actually had to send several entrees back for warming up. And from the reaction of the waitress, this appears to be an ongoing issue with the kitchen.

It looks like the graduation dinner will not be where I had originally planned it. And that's a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BD456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
310 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Uptown, not far from Downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sophisticated dinning atmosphere is quaint store-front setting. Make reservations or be prepared to wait for a while. You may wait anyway; however, this is one of few places that really is worth the wait - and don't worry about soul overhearing one's conversations...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pbaglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not in Amsterdam Cafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Friday nite before the rush........3 couples stuck in a booth? First, the drink orders were wrong. Pale Ale looks nothing like Abbeygator. Second, the cheese grits were not cooked thoroughly, but the seasoned shrimp was good. When the meals came, the two orders of Chicken Carbonara were cold, the Gulf Shrimp Pasta was also cold. We sent the dishes back and on return, the waiter tried to give us 2 plates of gulf shrimp pasta and no chicken carbonara. When the plates were corrected and finally came back the pasta was then hard as a rock and the shrimp was rubbery. Pricey for lack of quality. Good wine and beer menu, service staff not friendly and definitely don't go out of their way to encourage return visits.

Gorgeous atmosphere, but are they going for upscale dining? or casual given the dress code?
Definitely not worth a return trip...........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLHCAH2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
438 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Eclectic Eats, Cafe Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Interesting restraunt with eclectic menu. They have a very nice beer and wine menu with several nice brews on tap. We ate lunch here and started off with the Santiago Salsa which was very tasty; it was more like a fine bean dip as it was thick with cheese baked on top but again very tasty with fresh tortilla chips. My brother had a side salad with rum vinagarette dressing and he enjoyed the dressing but he was not fond of the salad and toppings. Then he had the deli burger and said it was an exceptional burger that he would eat again. I had the crab and avocado sandwich; it was delicious and I would definitely get it again. It came with sweet potato chips which were average at best as I have had better.

Overall, food was good, the sides average and menu choices were outstanding as me and my brother saw at least four other items we would like to try. Last note, it was pricey for lunch as I typically do not get in the 45-50 range for lunch for two. Enjoy Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amsterdam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing