We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite restaurant in Auburn!”
Review of Acre

Acre
Reserve with OpenTable
Acre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 215 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gay Street
Description: Acre highlights fresh, modern cuisine inspired by our southern heritage.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant in Auburn!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I had heard that chef David had left a local favorite to start his own place. I thought it was designed to be a farm to table restaurant but there isn't a garden yet. It does offer local in season produce, and the creativity is unlike anything else. We shared the corn on the cob with chipotle sauce and Parmesan cheese, tomato bisque soup with pimento cheese slider, arugula beet salad and red fish special....everything was delicious and we would order them again. The red fish special with sweet potatoes was one of the best dishes ever. Decor and ambiance was fresh and tastefully done. I loved the somewhat private dining room just off the front entrance, great for a small group. Creative, healthy, and innovative. Make your reservations now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingforfun039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    53
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Why so long to discover this place?”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Just found my favorite restaurant in Auburn area. Absolutely fabulous place! Friendly staff in a pleasant and unusual setting! Located on Glenn St just a block or so from Main Street in Auburn. Valet parking and self parking available. Very different menu from most anywhere around. The menu is an exploration that you will enjoy. No matter what you choose, you will find it well prepared and much better than you could have imagined. It is a little pricey but if you like quality and taste, you want mind price at all! My wife ate the fried grits with shrimp and really enjoyed it. We had the homemade jalapeño poppers which were ten times better than any I have ever eaten before. I ordered the ribeye steak with their own special way of preparing and was one of the best steaks ever! Dessert was their special bread pudding and in a city where there are some great bread puddings, it is undoubtedly the King! I will be a regular at the Acre from now on!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kudos”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I dined at the Chef's Bar last week while in Auburn to visit my parents and siblings. Things have really changed since I left in 1982 including the addition of a national-class restaurant in Acre, which I found via Best Chefs of America. As a chef and also a peer-nominated Best Chef of America, where and what I eat is very important to me. To find another restaurant that serves food on par with my own is always exciting.

We tried just about all the appetizers and two of the four charcuterie plates. The craftsmanship and the obvious dedication to quality was clear in all of them. The "Cast Iron" mussels were phenomenal and David Bancroft, will you be mad at me if those make a brief appearance on my own menu next week? The butterbean gnocchi didn't sing for me, but huge kudos for trying something new and different!

While sitting at the Chef's Bar facing the garde manger station, we got to chat all night with the two garde manger cooks and rarely with the expo who was busy, busy all night. What was immediately apparent from talking with them and three or four servers is that they all love what they do and the product that they serve. I will take enthusiasm over technical perfection any day.

The restaurant space is stunning. Just a phenomenal work of craftsmanship. I don't care what the décor is in a restaurant--I'm always there for the food--but the simple, organic feel of Acre is extremely attractive.

Finally, David, thank you for spending so much time with us. What you're doing is near and dear to my heart and I wish you all the success in the world.

Best meal so far of 2014 and one of the few must-visit restaurants on my list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcreAuburn, Owner at Acre, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Chef, it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife! I am always thankful for the opportunity to cook and receive feedback from other chefs and restaurant owners. I hope that I have the opportunity to make it to One Block West in the future. Best of luck! - David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trendy with suspect service.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

One of the newest hot spots in Aub offering upper scale chow. Great ambiance and the potential for an excellent meal. Like so many restaurants in Auburn, it can be hit or miss based on the service. The labor pool typically consists of students, and it is rare to get consistent outstanding service anywhere in town. That said, David Bankcroft has done an outstanding job. He shakes up the menu with creative offerings. And if he is actually in the kitchen, you can be assured of a quality meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
460 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, wonderful service, delicious food”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Opening in August 2013, this is a wonderful surprise for Auburn. The first impression is one that whoever decorated this place had a flair for imagination. It's stunning, but in a subtle way. Next, of course, is the friendly, professional service. Emily, one of the hostesses, and Carter, one of the bartenders, go out of their way to welcome you and make you feel comfortable. What might be a coat and tie affair in a larger city, the Acre is relaxed and a golf shirt and slacks are fine. Finally, the menu and food. David Bancroft, one of the owners and the restaurant's executive chief, has put together fresh, wholesome, locally grown dishes that are suburb. The fish entrees are exceptional, but everything we had, including the appetizer, was delicious. You're in for a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acre also viewed

 

Been to Acre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing