We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fantastic Start to the MS State Weekend...”
Review of Acre

Acre
Reserve with OpenTable
Acre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 220 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gay Street
Description: Acre highlights fresh, modern cuisine inspired by our southern heritage.
Independence, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Fantastic Start to the MS State Weekend...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Outstanding experience! Showed up without a reservation and they worked us in very quickly. This is very new restaurant is Auburn; however, as long as they "do what they do" they will become a fixture in very short order. The chef even met with us early on and we found out about his longstanding ties in the community. The service is wonderful and accommodating! This is southern cooking taken up to a level of elegance rarely enjoyed; one simply must experience it rather than be told about the effect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pbaglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    57
    23
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Thank you”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for an incredible dinner. Our server was pleasant very knowledgeable and excited to have us there for dinner. finally a restaurant in Auburn that offers upscale food and drinks and probably one of the most pleasant and friendly staff I've had the pleasure of dinning with in years,(from the hostess, our server Jonesy, and the chefs that we were actually able to watch and talk to while our dessert was prepared). A truly refreshing and unique dinning experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puppylove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice change”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very attractive restaurant in downtown. It was a nice change from our usual dinner outings there. Food was good - though some items a little too "foodie" for our tastes. Decor was very special. Service good - only issue we went early and sometimes felt a little rushed to make way for next diners

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FtMorgan-Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stopped by about 8:45 on a Saturday night. Granted it was a big football game night in town but the sign on the door said it was open until 10 pm and the crowd was reasonable. 3 hostesses basically tried to talk us out of getting a table and said they were closing at 9, although none could explain why the door said 10. We should have left at this point. Very reluctantly we were seated near the bar. The waitress was pretty good, although after we got our food she vanished and she brought the check without asking if we wanted desert. Drinks were nothing spectacular and watered down. Got the burger which was mushy, cold and undercooked. Bun was stale. Overall no flavor. Wife's food was not much better. Most astounding thing was a group at the bar that were clearly friends with the bartender. Very loud. One girl sat the whole time with her feet up on the bar. Another girl sat on the bar and was hanging over it quite a bit. Just not really the kind of atmosphere one would expect for a place that is supposed to be upscale and classy. I love the chef's work at other places in town and hope the place improves but for now I won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank augraybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Why be treated like a bother?!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had heard great things...they were wrong. We arrived at 8:55 on a Saturday night and felt like we were a huge bother. The hostess informed us that they were only serving food for "4 more minutes" even though the door said they were open until 10. We chose tp be seated and the food was delivered so quickly we couldnt even enjoy drinks. Food quality was average. We were not given a choice to have dessert. I guess the staff going out was more important than the customet. Save your money...go to amsterdam...where they want you there...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank leahog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acre also viewed

 

Been to Acre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing