We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely different in good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hound

The Hound
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hound is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 214 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manning, SC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Definitely different in good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ate here twice with a group of eight while at Auburn on business. We liked it so much Fri night we came back Sat. Like Gaston in Beauty and the Beast, they use antlers in all of their decorating. It has a hunting Lodge feel but the choices and prices are more of a higher end restaurant. Patrons were casually dressed and, while the Auburn game was on, were enthusiastic but not disruptive. Portions were large and included rabbit, boar, venison, and other unusual selections. Service was very good. The pork chops and the meatloaf were huge hits with our group. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that I felt the prices were a little too high. Parking was a bear due to construction but this is definitely a place I would go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaxvilleBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    94
    20
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Acceptable & Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch.
We were in line for an hour and waited another half hour to get our food.
Definitely NO to the fries. Try side salad! We had both and the salad was much better. Nothing exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am a bourbon and bacon lover so this place rocks! The goat cheese stuffed dates wrapped in house smoked bacon was one of the best appetizers I have ever had. I plan to duplicate for the holidays. Their pimento cheese spread is awesome. Their bourbon selection is some of the best anywhere, offering "hard to get" selections that really are one of a kind.
You won't be disappointed…..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
443 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“"Bourbon and Bacon"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Is the theme of this restaurant as they have bacon in or on almost everything. It is a hunting lodge theme with an outside seating area as well as a large living room (couches and loungers for comfort and conversation).

They have an interesting menu in an interesting atmosphere.

The pimento cheese appetizer and pork rinds are wonderful.

We had the turkey avocado and hot chick sandwich and they were both good so enjoy The Hound!

Helpful?
Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My daughter goes to Auburn, we were visiting for a game and she commented that she had heard good reviews on this restaurant. We tried it for brunch and we were pleasantly impressed. Luckily we got there early because when we left there was a 1 1/2 hour wait. I had a different breakfast and it was delicious. I had the Fried Green Tomato Bennie - looks scary but what a treat. It had two fried green tomatoes, pork belly, two fried eggs, arugula topped with roasted tomato aioli. My wife and kids had the Granola French Toast. They raved about it. It is off the beaten path but worth finding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bearcat382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hound also viewed

 

Been to The Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing