We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Auburn University
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Monroeville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hotel stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was in Auburn for a state convention and the hotel and staff couldn't have been nicer. We had a wonderful time. City was easy to get around in and well marked. Everyone seems to take pride in the apperance of their city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Elizabeth C:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent convention, and for taking a moment to give us such a positive review.

As you noted, Southern Hospitality is alive and well in Auburn and at The Hotel at Auburn University. Our amazing staff of AU students and hospitality professionals strive to make every guests experience a unique and memorable one that stays with you even after you leave Auburn.

Thank you again for being our guest; I certainly hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to the area!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    124
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
228
57
23
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel staffed by what appear to be mostly students. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Right across the street form the university library. Based on 2 meals, the hotel restaurant is OK but not great in terms of food quality and service.

Room Tip: I've only stayed once so I can't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geochemprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Geochemprof:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Auburn, and taking a moment to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are certainly lucky to be located on the campus of Auburn University, which makes us a popular venue for visitors to the city and university. As the university's hotel, we also function as a training venue to the Hospitality Management program at AU; you are correct that we have a large workforce of students who are supplementing their classroom learning with practical experience. Led by a dedicated group of hospitality professionals, our students are truly a unique asset to the hotel, and provide our guests with genuine enthusiasm and a strong desire to ensure that all of our guests have memorable stay in Auburn.

Thank you again for staying with us; should your travels bring you back to the area, I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Hotel at Auburn University.

With Regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel never disappoints. The staff go out of their way to welcome and accommodate all manner of travelers-- from out of state parents, sports teams, business travelers and special University eventers seamlessly. Friendly bar with excellent food if a bit pricey. Reservations are nearly impossible to secure during football season, but is a comfortable/luxurious spot to watch the game. Upscale atmosphere, rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished. The location is within a short walk of downtown and the stadium. Favorite place to stay in Auburn.

Room Tip: parking lot views for the most part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kim D:

Thank you so much for your stay with us last fall and for offering us such wonderful feedback on your experience.

As you noted, our greatest asset is the amazing staff that we have at the hotel. We have a wonderful mix of students training to be the next generation of hotel managers, led by a seasoned staff of hospitality professionals. Together, they strive to offer an experience that is second to none and appropriate for our role as Auburn University's "Front Door."

Thank you for making us your home away from home in Auburn; we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel at Auburn University on your next visit!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and our two youngest teens stayed in an executive suite on the 6th floor. Awesome room, plenty of space and conveniences. Large bath, large shower and a 1/2 bath off of the living room.

Service was great! One hiccup on delivering more towels, but the manager on duty delivered them himself.

My wife and I had a few drinks in the jazz lounge area on Thursday night (live jazz on Friday/Saturday nights) and it was hip, cool and comfortable place to chill by the fire.

We were visiting Auburn Univ, so the convenience of it being directly across the street was fantastic. Shops and great dining a few blocks up the street.

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear howard b:

Thanks so much for your recent stay at The Hotel at Auburn University, and for taking a moment to tell us about your experience.

Our Executive Suites are some of the most popular rooms in the hotel, and are great for families who need the extra space. I do apologize that it took some time to get extra towels to you, but happy to hear that our duty manager delivered them to your room personally.

The fireside of our Piccolo jazz lounge has become a favorite hangout for guests and locals alike, so it’s great to hear that you were able to join us for an evening of cocktails, small bites, and great Jazz.

I do hope that your visits will once again bring you to Auburn and that we have the chance to welcome you back to The Hotel at Auburn University.

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for a Tour of Auburn University.
What a great hotel. It is beautiful outside and inside. I chose this hotel because it is directly across from the university and wanted to be able to walk over for the tour. Perfect location.
Check in was smooth, we spoke to Bridget who gave us great recommendations for dinner and other information about the campus.
We stayed in an executive suite which had a living room with separate bedroom, 1.5 baths and a wet bar. The room was beautiful and had everything we needed.
Here are my only complains about the hotel. For a hotel of this quality the sheets should be softer, and bed should be softer or plusher, not less firm, softer there's a difference. The hot water in the shower could have been hotter in the morning but was not cold. The shower head had a very soft flow making it difficult to rinse conditioner out of long hair.
We were on the top floor, there was a very large party going on not very far down the hall from us in the Presidential suite and several other rooms out into the hallway . We were never bothered by it or could heard a thing once we were in our room.
We had a drink at the bar after dinner it is a nice relaxing atmosphere and the bartender was friendly. They offer off menu, breakfast buffet or grab and go in the morning, fantastic options! We had the buffet as we were a bit pinched for time. It was very good and our waitress was very attentive.
If my daughter winds up at Auburn I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear megilla:

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel at Auburn University during your recent visit and tour of AU.

I was so pleased to hear that Bridget was able to assist you with information about the Auburn campus, as well as local dining options. As a student in the Hospitality Management program at AU, she has great pride in her school and enjoys sharing her enthusiasm for Auburn with our guests, all while gaining practical experience by working in the University’s hotel.

I would like to thank you for letting us know about your bedding and shower head in your suite; I have passed along your comments to our Housekeeping Director, and the team will certainly be looking to see if there are any improvements that they can make in those areas to make our guests experience more comfortable.

I do hope that your daughter decides to join the Auburn Family and that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel over the coming years.

Regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visiting campus with my family, as my daughter was accepted at Auburn for this Fall.
The Hotel is right across Samford Hall, the iconic building of Auburn University.
The Hotel staff includes many students on the Auburn University Hospitality program. All the students/staff we met were very cordial, polite and eager to help make our stay an enjoyable occasion.
The rooms were extremely spacious. We had a Deluxe Double and a Suite. Both had huge bathrooms and showers. Flat screen TV's and coffee makers, including a Keurig in the Suite.
We shared an appetizer and drinks by the bar, near a fireplace. Great ambience.
We had breakfast buffet on the restaurant the next morning. The food was very good and the coffee was excellent.
I would definitely stay here again. Great place for football weekends but reserve very early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishtico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Spanishtico:

Thank you for your recent stay at The Hotel at Auburn University during your visit to AU, and for taking a moment to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff of hospitality students and professionals were cordial, polite, and made your stay enjoyable one. I'm also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the fare in our Piccolo jazz lounge as well as breakfast in our newly refreshed Ariccia restaurant.

Now that your daughter is a member of the Auburn Family, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel throughout the upcoming years.

War Eagle!

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssocDean
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently attended a meeting at Auburn University and the Hotel at Auburn University is outstanding! The room was well equiped and maintained. The staff were outstanding and well managed. Food and beverage were above all expectations. I would definately stay again for personal or professional travel. Most were students that were managing the space and I would hire them in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssocDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear AssocDean;

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Auburn University, and for taking a moment to share your experience of the hotel.

Our location on campus and our relationship with the College of Human Sciences at AU means that we not only serve as the University's hotel, but as a training facility, where students gain practical experience in the field of Hospitality Management. Led by a group of experienced hospitality professionals, our student staff truly love their chosen field of study and have great pride in their school; they all work tirelessly to provide an exceptional experience for our guests on a daily basis.

I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Auburn in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again at The Hotel at Auburn University.

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Auburn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Auburn University

Property: The Hotel at Auburn University
Address: 241 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn
#1 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Auburn University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel at Auburn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auburn University
University Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing