We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Elevator Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Auburn University
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were booked in a King room, but my wife wanted to get 2 beds upon arrival since we were traveling with 2 under 6. The front desk must have laughed and thought, a sucker born every minute. No problem to switch, into the top floor, room 635. The room was the smallest room outside of Europe I've ever stayed, and instead of queen beds they were barely full-sized. The view is of Taco Bell, an apartment complex and the hotel ballroom roofs. The kicker here is that the elevator controls are right behind the wall, so all night and day you hear, whhhhheerrre. 10 seconds on, 1 minute off. Even with the fan on high and a home brought air filter on high, you can only hear the elevator. My kids are awesome and well behaved, but the hotel mustve figured they'd stick a family in that room since we're going to be loud? For $250 for 2 nights, they must be joking. Its Auburn, not NYC. I will not stay here again as the microtel and hampton inns are bigger, cheaper, quieter and better. All this hotel has is location, which is why I put average and not poor.

Room Tip: Get ones facing the campus, the backside is terrible. Stay away from the ice machine and the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miwsnrubua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 558 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Auburn hotel hosted my son's wedding. The staff was courteous and professional, the hotel facilities immaculate and the dining excellent. Our king suite was spacious and quiet. They made our day and our stay over the top awesome!!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was very quiet. The king suite is very spacious and has two bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very comfortable room, great location for work on campus, good dinner and breakfast. AC unit kind of blowy, and I woke up in the night wishing for fresh air.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel lobby is nice, and the location is certainly convenient. However, I was disappointed by the LACK OF BLACKOUT CURTAINS in this hotel room. There are long, side panels, but they are decorative only, and do not close. There are short sheer curtains, which do not block out the sunlight. To make it worse, the short sheer curtains close right over the wall A/C unit, and thus BLOW OPEN every time the A/C unit turns on and off.

There was no hope for making the room dark at this hotel. Room service pancakes in the morning tasted like old grease/oil. :(

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parieeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My son and I spent one night at the hotel while visiting Auburn University and wished I had more time to stay. We stayed in a king suite and it was beautiful! The service at the hotel and the restaurant was first class all the way reasonably priced. It was a delight to have dinner at Ariccia and was amazed at the fabulous wine list. I never expected such a treat. The hotel is staffed by students from Auburn who have a vested interest in the property's success. I look forward to spending more time at the hotel in the near future! War Eagle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelSnob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Hotel at Auburn University is always our first choice to stay when we visit Auburn. The only problem is that is stays booked so much of the time, so I hesitate to even write a review! But when a company gets it right, it needs to be noticed! The hotel is mostly staffed by hospitality students at Auburn Hotel, and they are definitely being taught that the customer is king. This is something that so many companies in so many different industries fail to impart on their employees. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieCatTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We only spent one night here, but the rooms were very clean and modern, the on site restaurant and bar were very nice. The breakfast buffer was also excellent and you can't beat the location, it was directly across the street from the university. Only a 3-5 minute walk to the admissions building.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 16 in Auburn
447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
1.4 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#4 of 16 in Auburn
93 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Auburn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Auburn University

Address: 241 S College St, Auburn, AL 36830-5429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auburn
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn
Price Range: $150 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Auburn University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Auburn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auburn University
University Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing