We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in a few areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

First, the good: The hotel is clean and appears to be well-maintained (with the exception of the non-working elevator that was not marked as such but was clearly broken). The beds were comfortable, the hallways were quiet, and the location is convenient to the Interstate.

And the not-so-good: The front desk staff was not very helpful. We were checking in for a wedding that afternoon, and another member of my extended family had already called ahead and been told that early check-in would not be a problem for any of the three rooms in our group. However, when we arrived at 2 pm (1 hour before check-in), we were greeted by the front-desk staff with, "Oh, you're early. You can't check-in." Fortunately, another member of our group had been allowed an early check-in, so we were able to get into their room to change for the wedding. At about 2:45, my husband went downstairs to check on our room, and was told "no, it's still not check-in time." Amusingly enough, my sister and her family were standing there checking-in to their room. Suddenly, our room WAS ready; overall, it seemed that the front desk staff just didn't want to be bothered.
The breakfast was included in the room rate we got as part of the wedding group; it was adequate, but had I paid the normal $9.95 per person charge for that meal, I would have felt very ripped-off. It was pretty standard hotel breakfast, and I have had breakfasts at other hotels where the meal is included in the price (Embassy Suites, for example) that were far better. In addition, the service at breakfast was very uneven. While one server was friendly and helpful, the other server who brought us silverware and drinks was bizarrely unfriendly--in answer to my comment, "We need one more set of silverware here; we're just going to borrow a chair from a table that has an extra one since we need one more for our group", she responded "I wouldn't . . . " and walked away. What? (I did borrow a chair from another table, and it wasn't a problem.)

Overall, I would consider staying here again if attending a wedding or similar situation where a group rate could be obtained, but if I visited on my own I would investigate Auburn's other hotel options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your response to the survey regarding your most recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. We greatly appreciate the positive comments and hope to build experience from the negative. Our team takes great pride in their work here at the hotel and we hope to use your comments as training for the entire staff. I do apologize for the miscommunication on the front desk regarding early check in. If you are ever in the area again, please give us another try and contact me personally if you have any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Breakfast was good, eggs to order, potatoes and bacon or sausage. Also offered pancakes, pastries, fresh fruit and several juices. Coffee was great too. Location was pretty good, right off of the interstate. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Pool was a bit small and closes early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn for your most recent stay. We greatly appreciate your business and value your great comments. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was traveling with a group of friends and because I decided on joining the trip late, I booked my room at the Hilton separate from the rest of the group. The rest of the group planned on staying at a completely different hotel. My entire group found that the other hotel was totally unacceptable and met me at the Hilton fairly late in the evening. They were all extremely distressed when they arrived. The people at the front desk were absolutely wonderful. They ensured the group that they would do everything possible to accommodate them. They worked with each member of the group and booked rooms that met each individual's special requests. They were amazing. We stayed for 4 days and each time we entered and left the hotel we were greeted. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous as well. When we mentioned on our final day that we would not make breakfast because we were departing early - they arranged for the cook to come In early to accommodate us. We joked that we would like cookies in the evening and the very next night they had a plate of cookies out. I cannot say enough about how fabulous the entire staff was to us. Simply amazing!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn for your most recent stay. We greatly appreciate your business and value your great comments. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for a tennis tournament in Auburn. The staff was more than accommodating. They did everything in their power to make our stay excellent. Plus the hotel is very nice. Wonderful bedding and everything was new looking. The breakfast there was also great. Would recommend this hotel to everybody. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn for your most recent stay. We greatly appreciate your business and value your great comments. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our grandson's baseball tournament. The hotel was in a good location...just off the interstate, not far from Auburn University, and close to restaurants (next exit_...and the ball field. The rooms were clean, beds great, and a typical hotel bathroom with good towels. The staff was excellent, especially dealing with several baseball teams. The breakfast there is outstanding. They have the typical Continental breakfast, but also have a "made to order" menu option that is fabulous. The made to order menu option does cost money, but we got a pass for staying there, and we weren't charged. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slick831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn for your most recent stay. We greatly appreciate your business and value your great comments. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel was top notch. The staff was friendly and professional. Great location and the bed was fantastic and the room was spacious. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Auburn. I did not use the amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay here with us at the Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn. I will be glad to pass along these great comments to the staff. It's comments like yours that makes us feel like we are giving our all to get our jobs done for you our guest. Once again, Thank you and we do hope to see you again at the completely renovated Hilton Garden Inn of Auburn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First room had no hot water, second room had hot water but in-room coffee pot was unworkable mismatched set, bulb out in bathroom. Not up to my usual good experience with Garden Inn brand. Similar experience with Hampton Inn also in Auburn area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#5 of 16 in Auburn
459 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
3.8 mi away
Towneplace Suites by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#4 of 16 in Auburn
97 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika

Address: 2555 Hilton Garden Dr, Auburn, AL 36830-5720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auburn
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range: $99 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika, AL hotel is less than three miles from Auburn University, minutes from Tigers football at Jordan-Hare Stadium and basketball at the Auburn Arena. For business travelers, this Auburn, Alabama hotel is convenient to several industrial parks as well as key Donaldson, Briggs & Stratton, and Wal-Mart facilities. With easy access to the interstate and just seven miles from Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National, Auburn Links at Mill Creek or Moore's Mill Club, golfers have great access to fine golfing in Alabama for business meetings or a leisurely day on the fairways. Choose from a spacious Guest Room or Suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika hotel and relax in a warm and inviting ambience designed to be comfortable and functional. Work into the night in comfort with a large work desk and ergonomic chair with task lighting. A 24-hour Business Center allows you to print remotely and securely when you need to. Each room is equipped with a hospitality center which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Tasty treats, evening snacks and meals can be purchased anytime from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) for preparation whenever you need them. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access. Relax with HD TV Channels and complimentary HBO on a 32-inch flat screen TV in a comfortable sitting area and sleep peacefully in a signature Garden Sleep System(R) adjustable bed. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access and a 24-hour Business Center with secure PrinterOn(R) remote printing. Relax with your group, colleague and friends in the Pavilion Lounge for a relaxing refreshment or coffee at the end of a long day. Get a great start to each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) which also offers evening dinner or room service. A complimentary fitness center and an outdoor pool offer the perfect opportunity for some leisure time after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing