We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average...”
Review of Crepe Myrtle Cafe

Crepe Myrtle Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This cafe is tucked in a nursery called Blooming Colors. Part of the restarant houses a farmers market of locally grown vegetables, cheeses and jams. The cafe is so charming and the deserts fantastic. We were in Auburn for a swim meet and we wanted something sweet after dinner, we found the Crepe Myrtle Cafe and our sweet tooth was satisfied. We split a lemon bar on the way back to the hotel, it was decadent. We also took a slice of carrot cake and a chocolate toffee desert both were insanely good. When we left on Sunday we stopped by and got a slice of key lime pie and a crepe stuffed with strawberries, bananas and nutella both were as delicious as the deserts on Saturday. What a special place - you've got to check it out!!!!
Auburn, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Below average...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I ordered a crepe. It was dry and tasteless... I don't see what others rave about...Pricey too...
My overall experience at the Crepe Myrtle Café was disappointing. So was my visit at the nursery next door (owned by the Crepe Myrtle Cafe's owner), where plants are way overpriced...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    45
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Ruined by a rude employee”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Unfortunately, the high-school aged employee behind the counter had no smile and an air of annoyance as we walked in a little overwhelmed and disoriented by the beauty of the place. Never a friendly smile or a welcome demeanor crossed her face. She seemed even more put out to have to explain a few menu questions to us. Not a great way to begin our only visit to this quaint eatery.
Later as we were in the middle of our meal, she passed over to the table next to us and began arrogantly spraying wood oil spray many times high over it. We could see the mists wafting our way and over our food. We looked at her in an effort to get her to realize her mistake but she completely ignored us and swiftly wiped in and passed back up to the front counter. How thoughtless her behavior was.
Neither of us will eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boaz, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very interesting dining / shopping experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The cafe is part of a large market that features organic produce, unique food items, plants and everything for the yard and garden. The menus features crepes stuffed with all sorts of things, baked goods and deserts. Indoor and outdoor dining is available. A great place to have a leisurely weekend meal. They don't take Amex .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roninboaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crepes, Crepes! with a variety of fillings”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful crepes for lunch and crepes for dessert! There are other offerings on the menu, but I choose to order the crepes.

After lunch, one can browse the market through the door of the café, and then out to the plant nursery where the café is located on a part of the grounds. The market always has boiled peanuts for those who enjoy this southern snack.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful crepes, no-frills dining”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a late Sunday brunch at the Crepe Myrtle Cafe this past weekend. The breakfast menu ended at 11, so we ordered off the lunch menu. The crepes themselves were perfectly done, with all ingredients fresh and very tasty. I had the tomato lover, my daughter had some wonderful chicken, and my wife had the Nutella crepe, which was delicious. The weather was quite cold last weekend, and their heat was not up to the task, but this should be a rare event in Auburn. Seating is adequate but definitely not frilly. The Cafe is a bit tough to find, but really worth looking for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markrob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crepe Myrtle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crepe Myrtle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing