We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible...”
Review of Oak Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Leaf Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Atmore
chicago, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible...”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Do not stay here! Bug in sheets, only took cash (did he pocket it?), charged us 90 bucks, took all night to get temp down to 75°, smelled bad, pool only half full, no juice, only 3 bagels and a tub of butter, horrible....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EEmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    2
    7
    39
See reviews for
16
6
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Every time it got worse. We had family 3 blocks from there. I have photos of bugs, mold, torn sheets, threadbare towels, and non working exaust fanns. The bedside and other not only did not work but had no bulbs in them. Very dangerous. We had several Winn Dixie gift cards stolen out of our luggage. Years ago an employee was arrested for having a camera installed in a vent system. Since we stayed there the new hotels have been built and we drive the distance and pay the difference gladly. Days Inns are independantly owned so calling the parent company does no good. I'd just as soon stay with a mud puddle of pigs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blazemcg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The rooms smelled, there were never enough towels or washcloths. We had 3 people in our room and continually only got 1 towel. Going to the front desk, we got more attitude than towels. The continental breakfast was a joke..6 powder sugar mini-donuts...6 choc. mini-donuts..4 bagels w/ either cream cheese or peanut butter..fruit loops...no fruit...no fruit juice...never any coffee ready...front desk demanded to see room key before making any more, and that is only if they responded to us ringing the bell on the desk. There were 4 others in our party staying in a separate room. Our first night there, our 2 daughters woke us up at 12:30a.m.. Our youngest was about to take a shower when the heavy glass globe in the overhead light fixture fell out, hitting her on the shoulder and cutting her feet in several places when it shattered upon impact with the floor. With glass shards everywhere, her boyfried had to carry her out of the room. They called the front desk to report the accident and get staff to clean up the broken glass. They were told to come get a broom and clean it up themselves. When my daughter went to complain in person and see about getting a new room, the manager tried to kick the out of the motel. Only calling the police got any results from these people..seems like a bathroom floor without broken glass shards is considered unreasonable. THEN the service went downhill! I didn't think you could get any lower than the the gutter....but these people they could do it with not any effort at all...maybe I'm wrong..it might take a lot of effort, but they don't mind it at all...that's better than taking any effort to treat your guest properly. BE CAREFUL, YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Georgiaelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I've had to stay here twice and the first time was better than the second. The rooms are just O.K., I don't take my shoes off and walk barefoot though. The non-smoking rooms bedspead had several burn marks and the blanket was stained. The telephone did not work at all! The lady at the front desk was kind and did the best she could with what she has to work with. If you have the option, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank needclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We tried to get a room in a hotel right off of Interstate 65 but they were all booked. We drove for 5 miles to find this hotel in Atmore. It was very smokey in the room. The bathroom smelled the worst. When we got ready to leave after not sleeping much that night we saw a roach bug on the floor.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrigirlBowersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is the worst motel that I have ever stayed at. My daughter white socks where black after walking around the room. Then I was woke up at 830 and was asked foe my towels and was told that I couldn't get them back until after lunch when they had time 2 wash them. I tryed 2 get the comp breakfast but was told that they didn't put it out that day. Please save yourself the trouble and pass this dump up.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank workingmom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

While moving cross country we decided to give this motel a call since we knew several Days Inn's allow pets. We were told by the clerk via phone that they were like 4 miles off the freeway. Wrong they were much further out in the middle of nowhere. Approx 8 miles off the freeway.

We get into the room and notice it isn't very clean but you get what you pay for. We figured we would make do. After a short while in the room bugs were crawling out from everywhere. I couldn't tolerate the amount of bugs.

We went to the desk to ask if they happened to have another room perhaps upstairs that might be cleaner and have less bugs. We were offered another room. We haul all of our stuff and pets upstairs. We get situated and about 10 minutes later more giant bugs are crawling up the walls and from the beds.

My husband went to the office to let them know that we couldn't tolerate the condition and asked for a refund. They would only give us half our cost back saying we had spent a few hours at the hotel. Wrong we were there an hour tops and much of that time was moving our stuff into the first room then upstairs to the second room then everything back down to the car.

We decided to accept the loss and find a nicer place to sleep where we could all sleep without worrying what might bite us during the night.

Maybe it's a coincidence I don't know but the following evening our cat had fleas. Prior to this incident our cat hadn't had fleas. Who knows maybe it was just a coincidence.

I noticed they did have a swimming pool however it was empty. No water.

Either way I would recommend coughing up a few more dollars and staying at a cleaner motel/hotel. It will be well worth it if you want a decent night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myreviews2950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atmore
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atmore
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Atmore
Hampton Inn Atmore
#2 of 5 in Atmore
268 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Atmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Muskogee Inn
Muskogee Inn
#2 of 2 in Atmore
50 reviews
19.6 mi away
Log Cabin Inn
Log Cabin Inn
#1 of 2 in Bay Minette
93 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, Atmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Leaf Inn

Property: Oak Leaf Inn
Address: 1610 S Main St, Atmore, AL 36502-3560 (Formerly Quality Inn Atmore)
Location: United States > Alabama > Atmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Atmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Leaf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing