We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here. I repeat, do not stay here.”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently when we had to rest from a long drive home from Florida. This place looks like something out of the 1970's. The big security monitor on the front desk should have been our first clue. Towels that used to be white, a bathroon that reeked of smoke (we asked for non-smoking.) Broken furniture, pillows I was afraid to put my head on . . . the list goes on. Just an overall feeling that this is a very seedy place - we got up at five in the morning to make our stay as short as possible. Keep driving or go the the Hampton Inn next door and pay extra - what we should have done.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

We arrived late at night on our way up north. We checked in and found a dirty towel hanging in the bathroom and the towels in the room looked dirty. The sink was horrible and the shower head was in need of repair. Bugs were flying around in the room. The breakfast bar consisted of Little Debbie Snack cakes....Do not stay here....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank randalwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

This is an old motel that's been given a slight face lift. Once you get inside the room you can tell the age of the motel. It was clean but the pipes in the bathroom made banging noises all night long.

The free breakfast bar was extremely disappointing so we went next door to the Cracker Barrel. No yogurt, no oatmeal only crappy food and very little of that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We love the location of this motel because it is right off the highway and very convenient to gas stations and you can walk to the Cracker Barrel for meals but the room was dirty and smelled and the breakfast area was absolutely filthy! The state should send an inspector; I am certain it would not pass inspection! It's really too bad because it is in a wonderful location. We have stayed there on our way to Florida in April and again on our way home in September for the last three years but have noticed that it has been going down hill each year a little bit more. I do not think I can stay another year unless there is some major renovations and cleaning up of the place! Also our room had little bugs flying around and I just read in one of the other reviews that their room was infested with fleas. I don't know if that is what was in our room or not, but I certainly hope not. I thought perhaps they were knats. I will call management tomorrow but would prefer to call corporate if I knew how to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bailey1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Recently, I blew a tire on I-65 on the way to Gulf Shores. My wife and I stayed at the Comfort in off exit 351 (I-65.)

We checked in, and dropped off our bags, and put our dog (in its kennel) in the room. We left for about one hour to go eat.

When we got back to the room, we noticed small black bugs all over our luggage and the floor. Upon further inspection, we found that the room was completely infested with fleas. We had to wash our dog in anto-flea shampoo 5 times over the next few days to rid her of the hundreds that attacked her in this one hour. We checked out immediately upon noticing. The manager later told us that we brought the fleas with us.

This is a disgusting hotel, and you wouldbe better off sleeping in your car!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank mrwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Almost brand-new looking and nicely-appointed with lots of tile, granite and modern details. Enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool and exercise fitness room. Room spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable towels, comfy bed and problem-free wireless access. Really no complaints - didn't have any problems like your other reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vivtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveleralathens, Front Office Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks very much. We appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed at this Comfort Inn on the way to Florida for vacation. The rooms were booked online at choicehotels.com. The rooms were dirty. The carpet was wet and dirty. The room had a "funny" smell and I don't mean ha ha funny either. There was mold growing in the coffee pot. Our room was shorted towels. There was a large spider living in the bathroom. The bath mat (towel) was already wet upon arrival. Also, the GFCI switch in the bathroom kept getting triggered everytime we turned on the bathroom light. All items were reported to hotel staff with little or no concern on their part. I have stayed at Comfort Inns before and never seen anything like this.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jshober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#4 of 11 in Athens
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Athens
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Athens Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 1218 Kelli Dr, behind Cracker Barrel, Athens, AL 35613-2700 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $57 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travel Inn of Athens is a friendly place. We welcome our guests and our goal is to provide comfortable rooms at affordable prices. We want to make sure that we can make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Athens
Athens Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing