We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean - great bargain!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed as a midway point of a long trip, and this hotel was wonderful! Clean, quiet rooms, nice employees, and near the interstate and several restaurants and shops. Breakfast was much nicer than anticipated - considering the price! As another reviewer said, the secluded location made me nervous at first, but there was high occupancy so there were people all around and we had no problems. Definite re-do if we are ever this way again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager325, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We’re so glad you found us on your trip to the beach! We are definitely a mid-way point for anyone traveling to and from the Panhandle. We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future! It is always a pleasure hearing that the hotel team made yet another happy guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location, right off the interstate and within walking distance of gas station, McDonalds and Waffle House. Very secluded which made me a little nervous with the exterior doors, but we had no problems. Pool was well lit when we arrived after dark and looked very inviting. Bathroom area had sink seperate from toilet and shower, and was very nicely done. Water pressure in shower was great and towels were a nice size. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was typical with eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries and cereal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager325, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We’re so glad you found us on your trip! We are definitely a mid-way point for anyone traveling to and from the Panhandle. We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future! It is always a pleasure hearing that the hotel team made yet another happy guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The desk clerk was friendly and helpful as the A/C in our first room wasn't working. In a flash we were in a new room. It was semi-updated, nice linen, new sink, however the whirlpool tub looked dingy, it had a non slip stick on mat that was old and permanently attached. We had wanted to use this tub, we paid extra for the upgrade, but opted not to as we were tired and didn't want to try to explore the cleanliness. There were two curly hairs on the shower surround. A strangely placed commercial florescent light hung above the toilet. I'm sure all hotels have problems with a bug or two, but we saw 4 centipedes in the bathroom floor, and one roach on the wall by the bed. This creeped me out, if we weren't so tired and hadn't changed rooms once already we would have complained. Don't get me wrong, the room was nice enough for the value, and maybe centipedes are coming in from outside, but it was a bit much for me after seeing what other Quality Inns offer. The breakfast did have microwave eggs and sausage, I can't comment on this as I only ate a waffle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager325, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We accommodate many guests, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Please accept my sincere apology.We accommodate many guests, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. I want you to know that any comments, suggestions, or complaints we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. I have been since this, been in touch with our pest control company and this issue has been resolved. Also, housekeeping was notified immediately after I received this review and have taken action as well. I want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. And we look forward to serving you in the future when you choose to stay at Quality Inn, Athens, Alabama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I would recomment this motel to anyone. I see some reviews from 2011 that gave them a bad review. I guesss they have changed a lot since then. I had a group of 16 to stay here.(8 rooms) with no complaints. Caleb checked us in and it was a very fast check in. He seemed very attentive to take care of his guests. This is an updated motel with what looked like new furniture and wide screen tv. The bath room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Dwight was there for the check in and check our process and both was very fast. Dwight had my folios ready for check out as soon as I walked to the desk. We are a church group and they let us use the breakfast area for our devotional in the evening. Also we had been on the road a long time and didn't want to leave for supper, although there are a lot of restaraunts close by. We ordered pizza and again were able to use their breakfast area. The full hot breakfast was also a plus. They do not have a fitness center, but I was told that we could use the wellness center in town and one of their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skamper73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager325, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at Quality Inn, Athens, Alabama. I am glad you were checked in quickly and you had no problems with your room. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Athens, Alabama area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Updated, but inexpensively. Clean, but had a 2 ft x 2 ft stain on the carpet.
Quiet.
Seemed safe.
Nice basic breakfast, with hot and cold selections.
Good value.
Comfortable bed.
Small bathroom area, but was sufficient for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Nice, no frills place that seemed safe and clean for passing through to our destination
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed here twice since December of 2012 and although some of the reviews made me a little hesitant to stay here, this hotel is a good place to stay. We normally go to Clanton, AL, but decided to stop in Athens. I do not think you can go wrong staying here. The staff is courteous and helpful. The breakfast is good-- has as many or more offerings as some more expensive chains I have been in. We arrived after a 12 hour trip so were tired and wanted a good night's sleep, which we got. The beds were firm and provided a good sleep, but the pillows were small and somewhat lumpy as if they had small little balls of stuffing in them. Even with two pillows, it seemed inadequate. The noise level was OK--nothing to keep us awake when we wanted to go to sleep. The television was a flat screen with many cable channels. The windows have plantation shutters to keep out the light or provide light and some privacy. The curtains can also be pulled. The heat and air conditioning are controlled by a wall thermostat and did not create the noise of the typical cycle on/off--get too hot--get too cold models of other hotels. The cleaning staff must have rushed to get done as an open safety pin was on the floor and left in such a position that it could have cut someone very easily. Luckily we found it before anyone got caught by it. In addition the room looked clean enough, but dust and hairs were easily seen in corners of the bath that must have been missed. The room had a wardrobe closet which would be nice if you were spending more than a few days and wanted to hang coats or jackets or if you had clothes that needed to be hung up--much nicer than just the open rack. A microwave and fridge was included as well as a chair and ottoman. The room was a good size for three adults and a large service dog. Because we wanted to be on the first floor, we had a jacuzzi bath in our room. It was very big. I am not sure why, but all the rooms were filled on just one side of the building which I was afraid would make our stay more noisy, but it worked out just fine. It is a little more money than the Super 8, but it is well worth the money with the breakfast options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an older property that was showing its age in the accessible room I was assigned. Huge furniture filled the room so that I cound not get in on either side of the bed. The young man at the front desk came and removed a huge over-stuffed chair and an equally huge ottoman. The microwave and refrigerator were located IN THE BATHROOM right next to the toilet in front of and blocking a full length mirror. There was only one grab bar in the bathtub and it was way too high. There was no luiggage rack and the only closet was behind the bathroom door. The clock was not plugged in so I had to move a nightstand to find a plug. I was the first one to move that night stand in some time as it was dirty to the point of being disgusting behind there. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, breakfast above average, and rooms were quiet. The staff both at checkin and in the morning were helpful. Overall this room did not meet my needs for accessibility in comfort or safety.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#4 of 11 in Athens
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Athens Inn
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Athens
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1488 Thrasher Blvd, Athens, AL 35611-3856 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $58 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Enjoy affordable rates in a convenient location when choosing the Quality Inn(R) in Athens, AL. Our hotel is ideally located near many area points of interest, which include: - Athens State College Historic District - Limestone Sheriff's Rodeo - Wheeler Lake - U.S. Space & Rocket Center - TVA Power Plant Get refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature expanded cable television channels, hair dryers, coffee makers, in-room desks, irons and ironing boards, wake-up services, microwaves and refrigerators. Additional amenities include: - Free hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Outdoor pool - Guest laundry facilities Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, a meeting room is available that can accommodate up to 30 guests. Make your reservation today at the Quality Inn in Athens, AL for a memorable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Athens
Quality Inn Athens
Athens Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing