We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older motel style, but ok for price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Athens Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Older motel style, but ok for price.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here one night during my weekly trip. This location is right off I-65, with other hotels and plenty of places to eat. The is a gravel lot across the street( behind Hardees) where big rigs can park. The staff was really nice and helpful. I was in room 221, and the a/c was barely working. They immediately moved me to another room after calling, and the a/c there was a little better. The room was nicely appointed, but a little small. The mattress was really thin and worn, really could use replacement. good water pressure. The breakfast was really good, and was busy with lots of guests. The lady working the breakfast area did a great job keeping everything full. Older location, just needs a few upgrades.

Room Tip: pretty quiet for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for going online and giving us a review, we will address your issues, and we appreciate your business, hope to see you soon. Thanks GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    160
    59
    20
    12
See reviews for
177
132
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I got a pretty good rate on my room at this hotel from bestwestern.com. No complaints about my stay. The staff was friendly. The room was clean. And the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We appreciate you going on line and giving us a good review and we appreciate your business, i apologise about the blanket but we were sold out, and they were probably all given out, and we appreciate you working with us, hope to see you soon. Thanks. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were traveling all day and it was time to stop and we were looking for a hotel near the TN and AL border. We have a rule about not staying at hotels where you enter your hotel room from the outside. But everything in the area was booked and they had a vacancy so we took it. The room was reasonably priced. We got a room with a king size bed and a sofa sleeper. The room was very clean - a tad dated - but clean and the bed was comfortable and it was quiet. The only down side was we needed to have my teenager sleep on the sofa sleeper and they had sheets but no blankets. With the AC on next to the sofa sleeper she got a little chilled at night. We ended up giving her the blanket off our bed. They had a great continental breakfast in the morning. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet and we all had a good nights sleep - can't ask for more. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were in the area for business but didn't make a reservation at any hotel. When we arrived in town, we found that most of the hotels in about a 50 mile radius were booked already. We were a little unsure about the Best Western since from the outside it didn't look like it was "up to our standards" (especially with the outside entrance doors). We needed a room and figured "how bad could it be?". We were pleasantly surprised...it seemed like an older hotel but nicely remodeled and kept up. One of the washcloths still had the inspection number sticker on it. The bedding looked nice and updated. Everything was also very clean. Fridge and mic in the room. Breakfast and pool were good. Ruby Tuesday, Applebees, and Logans Roadhouse were nearby. Only downside was that we had a connecting door to the next room and could hear noise. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blsattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for the great comment, we appreciate the business, hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed on our way to Barber Motorsports Museum and Florida. It was OK. The highest nightly price we paid all trip and my least favorite. Supply and demand I guess. Our particular room smelled to me heavily of bug spray or something, but the rest of the family didn't think it was a big deal, we were very tired. Internet worked fine so the kids were happy. Cleanliness o.k. There was a noisy crowd outside about midnight, possibly from the Appleby's that was very near to our side. I thought the breakfast bar was pretty good compared to some of the other hotels we were at. I am always happy to have scrambled eggs. If I had to do it again I think I would pay extra to stay at the newer hotel next door, but I don't remember the price difference. However, we were able to park our car right outside our door, which made this a nice quick road stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWMomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family stayed in night on the way to the Huntsville Rocket museum.

The pros:
Less expensive, safe alternative to Huntsville locations.
Lots of restaurants a a grocery nearby.
Clean room w/fridge and microwave.
Friendly, helpful front desk staff.
small, but new equipment, towels and water in fitness room.
Breakfast was the standard fare for this type of hotel. No problems there.
Was given a ground floor room, very convenient for a family.

Minor cons: cracked sink (small crack)
Outdoor pool-not heated. It was raining but swam anyway. The kids needed it after the long drive.
Maintenance started early. One threw something from the second floor into the pickup in the parking lot. Desk very apologetic and said they would talk to them.
Outdoor access is not my favorite, but seems standard in warmer climates.
Carpet appeared to have not been stretched properly whe installed and was bunched near the walls-potential trip hazard for small kids or those with unsteady gait, was not in walkway, only near walls.
Overall: for a one night stay on the road w/ kids I was pleased With the location, value and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireftnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 256-233-4030.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Craig Wynn
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived around 11:00 pm without a reservation and were greeted with a smile. The room was quiet and comfortable. Free Breakfast was a plus. There is a Starbucks right down the street. Good value and great place to rest while on the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN B, Manager at Best Western Athens Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for the great response our aim is please and to make sure you are pleased and given value for your money, and I hope we did that. Thanks, Mgmt and Staff. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#5 of 11 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Athens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Athens Inn

Property: Best Western Athens Inn
Address: 1329 US Highway 72 E, Athens, AL 35611-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Athens, Alabama hotel is close to Athens State University and just South of the Tennessee border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Athens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing