We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best drive thru BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitts Barbecue 1

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whitts Barbecue 1
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best drive thru BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite drive thru BBQ!
Get the thick sauce if you want a more traditional BBQ sauce. Their regular sauce is more of an au jus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyTrafficker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Guess when you can't have it often you love it more! take out works great! BBQ sandwiches where I now live run about $8 & no where near this good. For reviewers that think sandwich too soggy I would suggest buying the slaw, buns & BBq and making your own sandwich if not eating right away. Slaw does make the bun soggy after it sits for a few. I miss Whitt's already!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hatchetsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, AL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“WAY over-rated.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

For one....this is a TAKE OUT place...as in a walk up or drive thru window.
The sauce is kind of a watery mess....goes thru the meat straight to the bun.
The barbque IS actually pretty good tho there are other places in town with as good
or better BBQ, with better sauces and WAY more variety on side items.
Side items consist of baked beans, watery vinegar slaw, and bought/pre-made potato salad
that quiet frankly isn't good.
The last desserts I bought here were SaraLee pre packaged.

An okay place for buying barbque to take home to go with sides/food you have there.

5-star?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whitts is divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

OMG what is more needed to be said; this is BBQ people. I couldnt wait as a kid to go by and pick up some sandwhich's! Nothing like Whitts, you don't know BBQ until you have had Whitts. Drive by and collect for a feast of a good eating!

Helpful?
Thank BAMA-Girl-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkmont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“family treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our favorite barbq in Athens and the south. Our children have all moved to different states and we have to take this everytime we go visit. I love their slaw just as much as their barbq. I highly recomment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitts Barbecue 1 also viewed

 

Been to Whitts Barbecue 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing