We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find another hotel..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Florence, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find another hotel..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We made reservation online,prepaid,when we arrived they could not find reservation. When they finally did,they were not aware that we had prepaid...OK, got that cleared up. Our room, as well as the rooms of all the other guests, was next to the boiler room. All night long this loud roar happened every few minutes. When morning finally arrived, we told the desk clerk,who responded with"never happened before, must be a malfunction". We will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    22
    20
    7
See reviews for
38
34
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Sleep Inn many times in the past three or four years but last night will be my last time. We stayed there last spring and they were replacing tile at the entrance and I thought they would be finished with renovations, carpet is very dirty. The breakfast was pretty bad, I think the biscuits were left from last week because they were like a brick. I was very disappointed because this hotel has gotten increasingly worse in the last year and I am sorry to write this bad review but there are other negatives but I would not stay there, go across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly D, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
On behalf of myself and the Sleep Inn Staff, I do want to apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay. It is true that it has taken a while on this renovation, but it will soon be over and we would love for you to give us another chance to ensure your stay will be better. I have addressed the breakfast issue and assure you it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I met up with my husband at this hotel and we stayed for three days. The front desk service was great and very accommodating. The rooms were clean. Yes they were a little out of date but were in the beginning stages of their renovations. I was very happy to hear that they would no longer be a smoking hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back to see all of the new updates they're doing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea8272000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This experience at Sleep Inn in Athens, Alabama was a most humbling experience. I have never had such good service from a hostess at any hotel I've ever stayed at. The full continental breakfast was also extravagant. All in all I care of sleep inn Athens, Alabama A++.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dedee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalmette, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice per year for 15+ years. The location is perfect for me, right off I-65, and convenient to gas, grocery, food. Rooms are generally clean and comfortable, but there are some rooms with questionable A/C and shower heads. It's probably best to insist on a ground floor room. Pool is small but ok. I've never tried the breakfast. The real problem with this hotel, which seems to get worse each and every year, is that hallways absolutely REEK of cigarette smoke. Non-smoking rooms are generally free of the smoke smell, but it's beyond terrible in the halls. Hallway carpets and walls are filthy. Other than that, it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is run down and needs lots of TLC. Rooms are nasty with nasty bedspreads and mold in bathroom. My husband is staying there because he is being transferred and this is where his employer has him staying in transition. The room is very small. Leaky toilet in the lobby. Ice machine broken in lobby. Internet only worked for about 2 minutes and then would shut down. Pool is very very tiny. Would never stay at this hotel and only do because we are made to. :( We had to change rooms twice because the air conditioner was not working. Alabama in August is HOT.

Room Tip: There are no rooms you could choose that would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stopped here last night on our way through Alabama. It is a reasonably priced hotel compared to other possibilities in the area. For our purposes (sleep and just passing through) it worked. Rooms are very small. We have 3 kids and needed a rollaway bed for a 2 queen bed room and the rollaway barely fit in the room. Rollaway beds are $10 extra and the staff at the front desk rolled her eyes when I requested one. We did have the breakfast the next morning and it had a decent variety. The baseboards are still pulled off in the hallways (must be a long term project from reading other reviews). No bathtubs, only a shower and the smallest bathroom area I have ever seen in a hotel, but it was clean. We had no issues with cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly D, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I want to apologize for any inconveniences you were caused during your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to. I also apologize for the staff and how that incident was handled. I can assure you it will not happen again. I would really like for you to stop back in with us after our renovations are complete and hope you will have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Athens Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#5 of 11 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 1115 Audubon Ln, I-65 Ex 351, Athens, AL 35611-4493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Athens
Athens Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing