We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at a decent price”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here on the way home from New Orleans to Indianapolis as this was close to half way. The room itself was good but the staircase was ver hot as the air conditioner was off. Easy access off the interstate and the location is also close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnfromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

i had to stop over in Athens and i thought i'd give this location another try. They do have a large gravel area for big trucks, and you can park along this street. I got room 201 because i wanted a smoking room. After about 30 minutes of working with the A/C and wi-fi, i called to switch rooms. I was placed in #207, which was much better. No major problems. Breakfast was better than the first time i stayed, which is an improvement. i would stay again.

Room Tip: the wi/fi doesn't seem to work well at the end of the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Was meeting my daughter to pick up grand kids. We wanted to relax and play in the pool before heading back home. My daughter read reviews and thought this would be a good place to stay. We arrived a little early but they could not accommodate us until check in time. The hotel smelled strong of bleach which I guess could mean its clean. Wall paper in our room was falling off the wall and had black mold growing on the wall. The toilet paper roll holder had green mold growing on it. Wood work need washed and painted. I would not recommend this hotel and will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had three rooms for one nite in transit to Florida. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable, excellent pillows, staff very nice and breakfast in the morning better than expected with eggs and sausage. For the price, great for a one niter. The shower water was hot with good pressure and the towels were decent size.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forsythethedwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

By no means was this hotel awful, I just do not think that the staff puts much attention to the details of the property. A little extra attention would make this a great hotel, especially for the price.

When I checked in, I asked for a pack and play for the room. The manager said that there were none available because they only had two and they were both broken. He said they had been that way for a month. How could a hotel allow this to not be remedied in that amount of time?

The room was small, but had good beds and air conditioners. The bed spread was washed but had noticable stains on it, so we threw them off of the bed. Again, a small thing that could be easily fixed.

Breakfast was not very good and the selection was small. Biscuits and gravy were the best option, but there were not many other good options available.

The staff was neither helpful or friendly. Front desk clerk was more interested in smoking outside the lobby than walking through the property and picking up trash, etc.

In the end, we got our money's worth, but that's all. If they put more work into the motel it could be a great property at a value price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneyworldnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This location is easy on easy off of I 65. Stopped on a quick trip home from Florida and had a good nites rest. Staff was pleasant and breakfast was more than I expected. Staff told us that this location was in process of remodel. We had new beds(2 Queens) and room was very clean. Outside was being painted also. Bathroom was different (pocket door) than any I've been in before. My wife and I have stayed in a lot of Sleep Inn's from Chicago to Florida, and this one rated a touch above average for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajbawynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraj P, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

We really appreciate the time that you took to leave us such a generous comment. Yes we are currently in the process of remodeling and hope to be done in the near future as to better serve your needs on future stays. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

While not an upper class motel, this hotel is very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was quite filling. Bathroom is a little small

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwsmithmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraj P, Front Desk at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your kind words towards our hotel and staff. We always appreciate any feedback from our guests. We are currently under renovation and hope that you can stay with us in your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#3 of 11 in Athens
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Athens Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Athens
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Athens I-65
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Athens
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1115 Audubon Ln, I-65 Ex 351, Athens, AL 35611-4493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $66 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Athens
Athens Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing