We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice combo...Cheap & Good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burrito Express

Burrito Express
Ranked #56 of 93 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice combo...Cheap & Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food at a cheaper price and fast service!! We love this place for a quick Mexican lunch after Church on Sundays!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overall a nice meal fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This place was nice and the food was good. I would eat here again. The burrito and chips were nice size and tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, AL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you are wanting a great Mexican food place ~ you have found it at Burrito Express. The name sounds like fast food but it is a full sit down restaurant with a varied menu & reasonable prices. The food is really good and the service is fantastic. One gets to know the servers and appreciate each one. This is a close family run restaurant and they become your friends, as well. Their soup is fantastic ~ we are sure it has kept us from getting colds this year. It is wonderful! Give them a try. You won't be disappointed. It isn't overboard with décor but nicely done. I believe they are gradually adding to it. My favorite place ~ great food ~ great service ~ great conversation ~ good great owners!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky35613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
280 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Now Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Burrito Express been our ‘go to’ place for good Mexican food with quick and friendly service. But we may change that. On our last two visits, most recent being yesterday Oct 14th, the quality of the food seems to be going down. The enchiladas had cubed chicken with a not so great texture. The chili rellenos is smaller with the filling denser and less flavorful, along with more breading. The tamale was, overall good, but, as with the enchilada, there was a red sauce on the inside and I was not advised of this when I requested green sauce over the top. This is an odd mixture. There are now (at least) two other Mexican restaurants in the small town of Athens and so competition has likely increased. I am hoping Burrito Express goes back to what made them a favorite before. Adding some mid-week specials, like machaca or carnitas, might be a welcome touch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Umfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love this place. The name is misleading. This is a full service, sit-down Mexican restaurant. The food is awesome and the prices are reasonable. Yesterday I had the lunch special fajitas and it was hands down the best fajitas I've had anywhere. Steak and chicken mixed for only $6. Their servers are exceptional. I highly recommend eating there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrito Express also viewed

 

Been to Burrito Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing