We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never going back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders

Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Anniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-14820669R-matas_greek_pizza_of_anniston-i
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I've had and Italian sandwich and pizza from here a couple times when the office bought lunch and the only reason I've had food from here twice is because it was free to me. Both the sandwich and pizza were way over cooked, the bread was dry and the cheese was hard (harder than you'd expect from travel time to the office). I can't figure out why people like this place...

Helpful?
Thank Primer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Head, Alabama
Level Contributor
154 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best pizza around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Food is great we drive 70 miles to eat pizza here. Extra special is our favorite and large Greek salad with house dressing. We have tried other items on the menu and they were good also. We have not tried anything that wasn't good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Porkchopranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This don't even come close to real food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was kind of excited to find a "greek restaurant" in Anniston, but as soon as we had ordered our food and sat at the table until it was done, I was disappointed. It did not even come close to the real thing. The gyro I ordered was made with some processed meat that was unidentifiable, and the salad was nothing to be proud of. I don't think any of the employees had any 'greek' background, unlike the news paper article that was hanging on the wall with the original owner pictured. The only way you would like this type of greek food is if you have never had authentic greek food before!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akblueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Outstanding Pizza. Worth the trip. Busy during lunch hour and worth the wait. Single serving pizza was awesome and drink refills. Salads are good too. Ordering goes pretty fast and slight wait for meal to be ready. Not sure I'd say it is the best pizza I ever had (but is one of the best) since I am a former New Yorker and have a comparison gauge for what I prefer in pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mata's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place has great pizza and subs, my only problem is it is very slow, if you are getting a pizza to go, call ahead. Even the subs take time, but they are very good. Will eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank henry2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders also viewed

 

Been to Matas Greek Pizza and Grinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing