We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larry's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Larry's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #10 of 42 Restaurants in Andalusia
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner. Really friendly staff, but the food is nothing really special. Had the smoked turkey and it tasted like it came from the store deli, nothing really smoked about it. Wife had the grilled chicken sandwich and it just tasted like it was a frozen job. Too many BBQ places to go to have food taste like this.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nevada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The waitress was great but the food took about 30 minutes to get to us. The meat and the sauce were OK, the potato salad was bland-vertically tasteless, the cold slaw was acceptable, As a later reaction, I believe some portion had MSG in it. The salad bar was kept fresh. We had to ask about senior citizen discount-they do offer it. There is a lot of seating. There are better places in town for great for pulled pork etc. The menu has many varieties to choose from beyond the pork such as chicken and beef. The pricers were average for the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rovernh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

BBQ is not my favorite, but they overall menu is quite good. They have specials on most nights and the salad bar is always fresh and well stocked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Totothedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were a party of 6 ranging in age from 10 to 66 and there was food on the menu that The hot chicken wings were good,the giant BBQ sandwich was very good.
We had 2 pounds of ribs and went back for another pound the next day. Next I will try Turkey.
They also have Ribeye steak.
The salad bar is small but adequate,including the picketed okra.
Service was great and friendly.
I would suggest a greeter to visit the tables and talk to customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank callmegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious southern 'Q”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

One of a few locations in southeast Alabama, Larry's brought quick service for our large group of maybe a dozen or so, with the waitress cheerfully taking orders separately. I always try the basic pork sandwich as a test of any 'Q restaurant, and Larry's satisfies. Side dishes are the ordinary range expected in most southern family restaurants, and it's good to know that the sweet iced tea will REALLY be sweet. Decor? Bland and functional. But that's OK. The food's the star here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrysofla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larry's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Larry's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing