We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Southern hospitality and pace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andalusia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Andalusia B&B and Inns
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Southern hospitality and pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We selected this place for our 5th wedding anniversary trip. The criteria was that it had to be within a 6 hour drive, had to be very peaceful, and in a small town. This bed and breakfast matched all 3 things and had many added bonuses. As much as I like to travel and try new things, I will visit again next year just to see the owners, have peace and quiet, and enjoy truly delicious meals. This food and dessert snob was overly impressed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at Sweet Gum Bottom on our wedding night. It was the best night sleep I have ever had! The bed was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and before we retired we took a stroll through the garden and relaxed in the jacusi tub. Laura, the owner was so inviting and made us a wonderful southern breakfast the next morning before we left for the rest of our honeymoon. We stayed a week in Gattlinburg but nothing for the rest of the week compared to the Sweet Gum Bottom. Thank you Laura.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decieyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a little peace and relaxation and we found it. Laura and Ricky have thought of everything! They made us feel so welcome. The place is beautifully decorated. It's one of the best breakfasts I think I have ever had. We stayed in the Laura Leigh suite and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home with me. We normally don't sleep well away from our own bed, but we both got a good night sleep there. You can tell the Laura and Ricky have gone to great lenghts to make sure every detail is covered. We will be looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhead2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

This little B&B in is absolutly excellent in every way. Can fully recommend it. The location is very relaxing and the owners very charming. This is southern hospitalty at its best

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at Sweet Gum Bottom whilst on a Robert Trent Jones Golf tour of Alabama. Sweet Gum Bottom was a substitute location when our first location closed down. What a substitute it proved to be. Quite easy to find with our GPS and located in a lovely country area, Laura met us with such friendship and hospitality we knew we would have a good stay. We could not help notice the beautiful décor on the way to our room, which similarly turned out to be immaculate in every way. As we had not eaten for ages Laura recommended an Italian restaurant in Andalusia. As we were not certain quite where to go Laura and Ricky drove in front of us to the location and stayed on for a meal with us (at our invitation), where we met up with their daughter. After dinner we returned to Sweet Gum Bottom and met up with another 'Brit' who was working in the area. We sat talking and drinking coffee into the very late evening and went to bed feeling as if we were part of the family. As we had to leave very early the next morning to make our tee time at Highland Oaks near Dothan, Laura must have been up at the crack of dawn to prepare a fantastic breakfast that certainly satisfied our hunger pains right through the golf. We are planning another RTJ golf trip early next year and Sweet Gum Bottom will be the top of our accommodation list.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here several times, we have always had an excellent experience. PS-The food is spectacular!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armywife625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you so much for making us feel at home.
Lisa & Marty

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisab36079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andalusia hotels
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Andalusia
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 5 in Andalusia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Andalusia Inn
BEST WESTERN Andalusia Inn
#1 of 5 in Andalusia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Andalusia
Days Inn Andalusia
#3 of 5 in Andalusia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27761 Straughn School Rd, Andalusia, AL 36421-1300
Location: United States > Alabama > Andalusia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Andalusia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B is located in Andalusia, Alabama. Sweet Gum Bottom Bed and Breakfast offers you 4 guest suites with jacuzzi and fireplace. Situated on 12 acres of beautiful countryside is our bed and breakfast, wedding chapel and reception center. We can't wait for you to come for a visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing