We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View-Overpriced”

Kowaliga restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Titus, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View-Overpriced”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for Sunday lunch. Sat inside restaurant-Big Mistake. Sort of like eating at the playground at MacDonalds. Noisy kids running amok. Inattentive parents. Plus wait staff continually dumped tubs of ice in a stainless steel cooler. Sort of like dining in a thunderstorm. Limited menu. We had two catfish fillet dinners and a hamburger steak. No alcohol. One iced-tea- $2.50. Total bill was almost $48. Food was average at best. Hush puppies tasteless. There is, however, a nice place to park your boat and the view is nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrwayneray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just disappointed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate there Sunday night and the overall experence was terrble. The salad was wilted and soggy. The baked potatoe, that was left off my order by mistake, tasted like it came out of the trash can.
I don't get it! All the money that was invested in the building and to have such second rate food and service.
When we left not one, of the three girls, said goodbye, kiss my a-- or anything.
We will not return until they get a manager that can get it right.

Sorry

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RollTide358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So close.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A great venue and atmosphere. Execution of menu and food quality was off. My cheeseburger was good and I would order it again but my side salad which they called a Murphy salad was awful. It was iceberg and tomatoes with a vinaigrette. My wife's catfish's breading kept falling off. My kids grilled cheese was done with a baguette which is hard for a 2 yr old to eat. The food was overpriced and just not good tasting. I did absolutely love my lemon icebox pie. Keep trying and I will go back once more. Hoping it will be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holmedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kowaliga has same great view, but better food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After many years, we were at first sorry to see Sinclairs close, but Ben Russell's new Kowaliga Restaurant is a great improvement in both appearance and menu. My wife and I usually have seafood and it has been fine. She loves onion rings and I sometimes take a couple of hers. In our most recent visit I thought the onion rings were the best we have ever had anywhere, and I am someone who has dined in over a hundred countries. Will order them myself in the future.

Ben, the largest landowner and marina owner on Lake Martin, built several years ago the beautiful Catherine's Market and the excellent Springhouse. We are told he moved a chef from Springhouse to Kowaliga to make his new restaurant more up scale. He succeeded admirably. Several reviews complain about higher prices. That is true, but it is still in line with many restaurants of this caliber, and less than Springhouse.

You can sit and watch all of the boats go by the southern end of the Kowaliga Bridge. By the way, the name is in one of Hank Williams' most famous songs about "Poor ole Kowaliga." For those who don't know, it is pronounced Cah-lie'-juh. Hope you enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montgomery alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have tried the refurbished kowaliga restaurant twice. Was expecting a vast improvement from the old sinclairs restaurant since the staff from springhouse was now running the place.
The interior is much improved.
The menu is limited and very overpriced. 15 dollars for a poorboy sandwich, 2.50 for tea. The food is tasteless. Their signature salad, the Murphy salad has a paprika based dressing, which makes the lettuce look like it is very old, which is not appetizing. French fries were soggy and greasy.
This is very disappointing, as the location is superb and accessible by boat. I used to eat at sinclairs at least twice a week, but doubt I will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lakemartindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kowaliga restaurant also viewed

Alexander City, AL
 
Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to Kowaliga restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing