We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Springhouse is the best at Lake Martin, by far”
Review of SpringHouse

SpringHouse
Reserve with OpenTable
SpringHouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highyway 63
Description: Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook-a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House-a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Springhouse is the best at Lake Martin, by far”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ben Russell spared no expense in designing and building his up-scale restarant a mile north of the Kowaliga Bridge over Lake Martin. He hired excellent chefs from Birmingham.

The stone and wood construction is rustic but beautiful. The food and service are outstanding.

A few years ago I had the very first dinner ever in the original round part ot the building that really was the spring house. There was a round table, great for conversation, and the room only has one table. Also, no windows. Downstairs from the main restaurant, I was worried that the service might be very slow and the food cold. It was just the opposite. They had five waiters bring the food, put the plates down and remove the heat-keeping lids simultaneously. Great fun, excellent food and a delightful evening.

On the main floor and in the small area on the second floor, it can be quite lively on summer weekends. Suggest that before dinner you have a drink on the roofdeck looking at the sunset before dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thornton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Three other women and I had brunch at the SpringHouse yesterday (father's day). Other than needing a larger boat dock, I have nothing but really high praise. Two of the women started the brunch with a Bloody Mary, which one of them (a well traveled retired physician) described as the best she had ever had. We shared the giant pancakes (2) with Vermont maple syrup as an "appetizer." Not your average pancakes -- really nice corn taste to them plus an inviting texture. The eggs benedict were enjoyed (also by the retired doc). By the time we arrived (noon), the restautant was out of the snapper, but had flounder -- absolutely yummy -- I could eat that dish every week. The fish was small, but this was brunch not dinner. Others had desserts and thought they were wonderful. I asked for expresso with a specific milk to expresso ratio, and got exactly what I wanted. As the out-of-state visitor, my attempts to pay the bill were rebuffed, so I don't know the price of the meal -- not cheap though. The setting is gorgeous -- in fact the photo that the restaurant has supplied here does not do it justice -- the grounds are now fully planted and lush. One of the ladies was so taken with the shortbread part of her dessert that she expressed a wish to have the recipe. Our server asked the dessert chef to come out, which he did. He graciously dictated the recipe and chatted with us for nearly 10 minutes.

This restaurant was a complete surprise. If it were in California (where I live) I would eat there again and again. It was that good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JP&mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant on fabulous Russell Crossroads”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This gorgeous restaurant sits on a rise overlooking the beautiful Russell Lands.

The food is fantastic with almost everything being made or sourced locally.

Chef Rob McDaniel has imagination and mad skills.

Service was good and there was even a wedding being set up upstairs at the same time as the full dining room was lunching.

Especially nice is the The Well House, which we peeked into. It is a gorgeous room for private functions.

We had a fabulous brunch and I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local "high end" restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant requires reservations. Beautiful location with both inside and outside dining options. Although the chef is a recognized James Beard finalist, I find the food uneven. There is an emphasis on local ingredients, but a very light hand with the seasoning, which can result in some bland results. Some items are expensive for what they are. Restaurant service can be a bit pretentious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Talu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location & Service with Tasty Food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently were down at Lake Martin and had a nice dinner at SpringHouse. The building itself was very well built with an open air concept with seating downstairs as well as an upstairs overlooking the downstairs with a separate bar. The service was very good all night and the food was very good as well. The table had the duck, pork chop and red snapper which were prepared very well with great sides to compliment. The smores and cupcake desserts were full of flavor and were a nice end to the evening. The prices are that of a 5* restaurant but not quite 5* with the food. We will return and it is a great place to eat if you are around Lake Martin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SpringHouse also viewed

 
Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to SpringHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing