We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant on fabulous Russell Crossroads”
Review of SpringHouse

SpringHouse
Reserve with OpenTable
SpringHouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highyway 63
Description: Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook-a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House-a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant on fabulous Russell Crossroads”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This gorgeous restaurant sits on a rise overlooking the beautiful Russell Lands.

The food is fantastic with almost everything being made or sourced locally.

Chef Rob McDaniel has imagination and mad skills.

Service was good and there was even a wedding being set up upstairs at the same time as the full dining room was lunching.

Especially nice is the The Well House, which we peeked into. It is a gorgeous room for private functions.

We had a fabulous brunch and I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local "high end" restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This restaurant requires reservations. Beautiful location with both inside and outside dining options. Although the chef is a recognized James Beard finalist, I find the food uneven. There is an emphasis on local ingredients, but a very light hand with the seasoning, which can result in some bland results. Some items are expensive for what they are. Restaurant service can be a bit pretentious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Talu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location & Service with Tasty Food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently were down at Lake Martin and had a nice dinner at SpringHouse. The building itself was very well built with an open air concept with seating downstairs as well as an upstairs overlooking the downstairs with a separate bar. The service was very good all night and the food was very good as well. The table had the duck, pork chop and red snapper which were prepared very well with great sides to compliment. The smores and cupcake desserts were full of flavor and were a nice end to the evening. The prices are that of a 5* restaurant but not quite 5* with the food. We will return and it is a great place to eat if you are around Lake Martin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fine dining establishment”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

First, and this matters to some people, this place isn't cheap but the service is great and the food is better. It was worth the trip from Auburn and I will go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnslitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best House!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This restaurant is a total surprise. From the moment we 'docked', yes, we arrived by boat from Lake Martin, until our last goodbye, the staff did not disappoint. We were ushered in golf carts through the amazing acreage that the SpringHouse is a part of, right up to the front door. At the end of our dinner, it began to rain. The staff provided us with umbrellas and "make-do" raincoats (garbage bags) for the trip back to our awaiting boat. SpringHouse itself is beautiful with soaring ceilings, stone and wood decor, and a huge fireplace. Our meal and drinks were some of the best we have ever had the pleasure to imbibe, they even have their own garden full of fresh herbs and vegetables. We WILL be making this a regular stop on our annual trip to Lake Martin.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SpringHouse also viewed

 
Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to SpringHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing