We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Red Rocks and Chief Joseph's Journey

Blustery wind made the Nez Perce tribes journey more real. Gorgeous red rocks, "loose stock" cattle... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
UUIRIS
,
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Day trip

What an spectacular and beautiful drive even with the skies overcast. The clouds hanging low over... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2019
billandgeorgeanna
,
Temecula, California
Read all 158 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Wyoming
from $38.00
More Info
from $82.00
More Info
from $269.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
137
21
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
137
21
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lodge cooke city dead indian beautiful drive nez perce northeast entrance every turn bear tooth motorcycle trip sunlight basin hairpin turns yellowstone park highest bridge mountain peaks high peaks red rocks mile drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2019

What an spectacular and beautiful drive even with the skies overcast. The clouds hanging low over the mountains was awesome. We saw about 5 mule deer, stopped off at the highest bridge in Wyoming and then headed onto Cooke City, MT.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank billandgeorgeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

Chief Joseph Scenic drive is breathtakingly beautiful with high peaks and deep gorges. The road is the path Chief Joseph led his tribe away from the US Calvary to save them from being forced onto a reservation. The road is winding with many switchbacks and steep grades. There are several scenic spots to pull off and view the scenery which I highly recommend. The road is under repair from rock slides but still passable. I thought the road was a loop but in actuality it’s a highway headed to Montana. We turned around at 38 miles and returned to Cody. Be aware vehicles longer than 40 feet are warned not to drive the highway. We passed 3 large RV’s headed up as we were going down. I’m not sure how they fared. There are no gas station for a long stretch so fill up before you go.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Anazeteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

It makes for a long drive from Cody however. The Highway is about 30 miles out of town. The drive is slow and fun. Lots of places to pull over and soak up the scenery. If you have time to kill, I recommend you take this drive. It ends at the Beartooth Scenic Highway. Turn right and keep on going. All total, we did about 200 miles from Cody, Wyoming.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank prelucir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

The Chief Joseph Scenic Highway is an Absolutely Gorgeous drive, and a Must-Do when you get the chance, you won't be sorry.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank DavidWG5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

We drove from the west side of Yellowstone to the east side of Yellowstone on June 26. The plan was to drive on the Beartooth Highway to at least Vista Point. Then turn around so we could catch this scenic highway on the way to Cody, WY. The Beartooth Highway was closed up until that morning, so we were lucky enough to be able to do both.

This is very different than Beartooth, but beautiful in it's own right. We are so glad that we drove this. I would for sure recommend this to anyone in the area. It was just breath taking. You will not regret it!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank BethWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews