We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly spectacular!”
Review of Beartooth Highway

Ranked #175 of 634 things to do in Wyoming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled between two scenic wilderness areas, this drive is considered the "most beautiful road in America."
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Truly spectacular!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Well worth the detour. I was surprised by the stunning alpine lakes at the top of the pass. I won't say much because you have to see it for yourself!

Helpful?
Thank Libby2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
500 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Awesome Road”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were heading for Yellowstone NE Entrance but wanted to drive the road that is so famous. We left Cody and diverted from Chief Joseph onto this highway travelling towards Red Lodge. The road did offer superb views from the many pullouts. The pass reaches nearly 11000 feet and there is always snow at the top. We watched skiers having fun here in June. The many lakes and tarns add to the magnificence of the scenery and it was a pleasure to return along the road.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A great introduction to yellowstone”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We drove this road on the way to Yellowstone. This pass you will never forget because the views are breathtaking. If you have a chance go now. It is truly the most breathtaking road in america.

Helpful?
Thank MikLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
677 reviews
390 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We drove through this highway on the way from Yellowstone into Montana. We stopped at the Top of the World shop which was cute. When we got to the highest point, we had to drive slow and the scenery was absolutely spectacular. We went to Rock Creek Vista Point which was totally awesome. I loved it! There was snow on the ground even in July! You have to take it slow when you go through the highest point.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent view of mountains, waterfalls and natural wonders.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The drive takes a few hours but is well worth it. We reached altitudes of over 10,000 feet so the views were vast and beyond beautiful.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Buni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beartooth Highway also viewed

 

Been to Beartooth Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing